My Man-Cave To Be

My fancy new fireplace.

Saturday past – according to my bank statement – turned out to be a day that made a rather large ding on my bottom line. Don’t worry though, this is not a post about buyer’s remorse. In fact, it’s quite the opposite. While I spent a lot of money – first on a new washer and dryer, then on new hardwood flooring – I’m absolutely happy that I did, and even more convinced that it was the right thing to do.

Sitting here tonight I can imagine how awesome my man-cave is going to be once everything that needs to be repaired or improved is complete. I can imagine the new tile floor in my laundry room, a fresh coat of paint on every wall, my new washer and dryer quietly laundering my unmentionables. My guest room will be repainted; the carpet within steam cleaned and re-padded. In the hallway and down the stairs, more paint, carpet cleaning and padding. On the walls will be framed pictures of family, friends, and travels – images that have been missing since the flood. On the main floor, the hardwood will have been installed – all dark and chocolatey brown. The TV will sit on a new fireplace mantle which contains a softly glowing electric “fire” – perfectly timed to heat my home over the coming winter months. There will be no sign of plaster or dry-walling as all of the walls will have a fresh coat of paint. The closet will be functional. New countertops will be the icing on the newly painted cabinet cake that will be my kitchen and bathrooms. New sinks will sparkle in the morning light. It will be a thing of beauty.

Mmmm, chocolate. I mean, mmmm, hardwood floor that looks like chocolate.

If I’m extra lucky, my man-cave will somehow also include a new grown-up couch, and grown-up coffee tables. It’ll have an upgraded sound system, and a cabinet specifically dedicated to scotch. And every day I’ll come home after a long day at work, I’ll exercise and stretch and make my dinner, and then I’ll sit down and enjoy the man-cave I call home. Elliot will be purring next to me, and my scotch will be breathing just within reach. It will be warm and cozy and inviting, and I probably won’t ever want to leave it.

Sigh. Obviously there is much to be done between now and whenever that might be, but the vision is taking shape. Inside I’m as giddy as a child on Christmas morning.


4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

