The First Snag

Floor plans and math? I’m obviously plotting to take over the world. Or perhaps my reno.

My dad has always told me that I should expect the unexpected when it comes to renovations. More specifically, he has always told me to figure out my budget and then add at least 30% to it to ensure I was prepared for the unexpected.

Given his experience with remodels, his words were not lost on me. And since I am currently in the midst of remodels after my flood, I’ve made a point to remember his advice. Fortunately, many of the things that I’m planning to do are completely optional and should my budget start skyrocketing, I shall simply cross them off of my renovation list for another time, another reno1.

But of course, as foretold by my dad, I’ve already hit a snag.

How is that possible? you may be wondering.

Well, dear readers, it seems that someone doesn’t know how to take a measurement. No, no – I’m not referring to myself. I’m referring to the expert who created the floor plan for the insurance company. The same floor plan that I assumed was accurate2. The same floor plan that I took with me when I went to Home Depot to purchase my 12 boxes of hardwood. At 20 square feet per box, and with my living room measurements of 9 feet 6 inches by 20 feet 2 inches, I was confident that my purchase would not only cover the floor but also provide me with a substantial amount of oops breathing room3.

The not-so-accurate measurement that led to the first snag of my big man-cave renovation.

It wasn’t until I was writing last night’s post that I actually stopped to consider the measurements. You see, 9 feet 6 inches was just not cutting it for me. Something seemed terribly off. The more I looked (from the comfort of my couch) at the width of my living room, the more I realized that 9 feet 6 inches was just wrong. Very, very wrong.

I got up and searched for my tape measure. Sadly it was nowhere to be found – buried somewhere in the mess that remains from the flood. What I did find was green painters tape, so I set out to estimate the dimension by taping the width of the room. Having done that, I removed the tape and carefully counted off each foot using the square foot tiles that are in my kitchen as a guide.

The result? Approximately 12 feet 6 inches. How could this be? I reviewed the plans and noticed that the main floor of my condo had a total width of 24 feet 11 inches, while the top floor had a width of 27 feet 11 inches. Three extra feet. Three extra feet that were not noticed by the expert. Three extra feet which meant I had not purchased enough hardwood. Crapshark.

Fortunately Home Depot still had the hardwood in stock and my friend Manon was able to pick up 5 extra boxes for me. Which means that I now have 340 square feet of hardwood available for a space that requires approximately 250 square feet of material. Overkill? Perhaps. But heeding my dad’s advice, I’d rather be prepared with extra than find out I’ve run out with floor that still remains to be covered.

While I’m sure this won’t be the only snag, I can only hope the next are as simple to deal with.


1 I’m looking at you new backsplash and counter tops in the kitchen and bathrooms. And don’t think you’re off the hook new tile floor in the upstairs bathroom.

2 Sigh. I should know better than to assume.

3 Also, any unopened box can be returned for a refund or credit.


2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

