In Search Of My Joie De Vivre

I am Dan’s lack of energy.

After my day of professoringI decided to have a wee breather in my office. I sat down, stared at my shiny computer monitors, and zoned out for about 5 minutes. When I came to I realized how much of a disaster my office had become over the past few weeks. There were boxes of books on the floor, posters to hang, stacks of papers everywhere.

How did I ever manage to work in this mess?

Figuring that my home was disaster enough, I decided to take action and clean up. By the time I left my office shortly after 7pm, I felt organized and somehow more productive.

I thought about this on my walk home. Simply cleaning up the mess of my office was enough to make me feel organized and productive. Prior to that I was zonked. Knackered even. And that is when something hit me.

You see, I’ve been wondering why I’ve been so lethargic and, for lack of a better word, blah recently. I haven’t been running or biking like I should, and when I get home from the office I just feel completely lazy2. It’s not that the days haven’t been crazy busy – they have – but that’s not usually an issue for me. I usually still have some energy or drive to get on the treadmill, or head out to hit the pavement. Recently though I’ve just wanted to curl up with Elliot and nap.

I should probably feel about this awesome by the time the condo purge is finished.

But this realization that a clean office was rejuvenating got me thinking in my think-centre. Perhaps my home, the place where I should be going to rejuvenate and recuperate, was the problem. Perhaps the giant mess leftover from the floods-o-August have been having a larger effect on me than I had given them credit. Perhaps they were draining me of my get-up-and-go, leaving me nappy and full of lethargy.

And so, dear readers, I’m going to test this little theory. At some point this weekend I’m going to begin the biggest purge my condo has ever seen. I’m going to work my way through the piles and piles of garbage that currently reside in my living room so that I might regain a sense of order and everything in its place, a place for every thing. The ultimate goal of course will be to recapture some of my je ne sais quoi, my joie de vivre, my mojo, my pizazz, my whatever you want to call it.

I’m either going to get myself out of this little funk, or at minimum end up with a much cleaner condo. Seems pretty win-win if you ask me.


1 Which included such things as giving my students a midterm, and grading said midterm while eating my lunch. Exciting stuff, no?

2 I don’t like feeling this lazy. In fact, I want to kick myself in the ass for feeling this lazy. But I’m too lazy to even do that. Gah!


2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

