Happy Teacher’s Day

An apple is a great gift for a teacher, but I prefer scotch. Just sayin’.

In case you weren’t aware, today is Teacher‘s Day – the day when we are supposed to stop and thank those people who have taken it upon themselves to teach the children1 about math and science and history and geography and all other things intellectual and/or necessary to survive in this crazy world in which we live.

While I think the original intent was to honour those people who actually took on the job of teacher – you know, those ladies and gents who stood in front of 30 odd information-sponges2, or perhaps those ladies and gents who stood before a crowd of know-it-all punks3 – I personally think the day is about reflecting on those people who have taught me anything.

You see, lessons, especially life lessons, come in many forms and from many sources. Often the lessons are provided by those who don’t formally wear the badge of teacher – our friends, our family, our parents. Maybe it’s a stranger on the street, or the neighbourhood kid; but lessons are everywhere if we are simply open enough to receive them.

I’ve been rather fortunate in the sense that I’ve managed to surround myself with teachers. These are those individuals who have challenged me to think about the world in a new way, or have presented the world to me in a manner that was previously unbeknownst to me. In some cases they have helped me to solidify a belief or understanding that wasn’t quite so concrete or solid. In other cases they have changed the way that I interpret the life that happens around me; sometimes in small and simple ways, sometimes in profound and moving ways. The point is, they have helped make me the man who I am today.

Reflecting today, I realized that there are certain individuals who have taught me more about myself in the past several years than I have figured out on my own in the last 37 years of my life. They have questioned me and asked me things that haven’t always been easy, challenged my preconceptions, pushed my boundaries, and have made me a better, happier man because of it. I can’t thank these people enough. I’m not going to mention any names because I’m sure that the folks I’m thinking of would be mortified to be identified here. Regardless, they will forever hold a special place in my heart because of who they have allowed me to become.

So today, this day-o-the-teacher, take a moment to think about those people who have changed your world. If you can, let them know.


1 And we all know that the children are the future – thank you very much Ms. Houston.

2 Also known as snot-nosed little tykes that are adorable even when they are snot-nosed.

3 Also known as teenagers.


One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

