One More Piece Couldn’t Hurt

Get in my belly!

I won’t lie, I just had another piece of pie. My stomach was already painfully full, but I thought it’s Thanksgiving, eat the pie. Ugh, why do I listen to myself sometimes?

Oh, right. Because PIE IS AWESOME.

That is so a rule, you should write it down twice. Of course, I’m sure you don’t need to be told to write that one down because, well, pie.

Anyway, as I sit here enjoying the last moments of this the Thanksgiving long weekend – full of pie and sushi1 and other tasty treats2, and with the wee fuzzball softly purring next to me – I realize how amazingly lucky I am. I have everything I could possibly need and more. I have a great family, amazing friends, a wee fuzzball softly purring next to me, a job that I love, a roof over my head, food in my belly, and the ability to explore this life in a way that most people in the world can’t.

Oh Fuzzball! How could I not be thankful for you?

The past year has been particularly incredible for both the highs and the lows. I’ve seen my brother survive a massive car crash, my Dad turn 70, my Granny turn 90; friends have gotten married, while others have had babies. I’ve watched several friends finish their MScs, MBAs, or PhDs, while others are inching ever closer to the seemingly elusive goal. I’ve travelled to see friends, and I’ve travelled for adventure. I’ve run two marathons and numerous other races, I’ve gone skydiving and bobsledding and ice-climbing and zip-lining. I’m healthier than I’ve ever been. I spent a week with Rick hiking mountains and raising almost $27000 for The Kidney Foundation of Canada. I have seen first hand how amazing my friends are – coming to my rescue when my condo flooded, taking care of Elliot when I’ve been away. I have seen the incredible kindness in the people that surround me; donating their time, their effort, their money, their resources for causes that seem too big and daunting to tackle, and yet they do – amazing and inspiring me with every moment they strive to make our town, our world a better place. And I’ve seen the beauty in the everyday; sharing a coffee with a friend, laughing at everything and nothing, talking about life.

I am one lucky bastard.

Correction: I am one lucky and incredibly thankful bastard.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone.


1 Yes you read that correctly. Sushi. For Thanksgiving. And it was awesome.

2 Such as Sapporo and perhaps a scotch.

3 And the bullheadedness passed on to us from both my mom and dad.


2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

