Hulk Smash!

Pfffft. My arms are way bigger than that.

Apparently this week has turned into one of those weeks. You know, the kind of week that was busy to start, but then out of nowhere is crammed full of eleventy-billion extra tasks that can’t be ignored. I feel a mighty rage building. And the worst kind of rage. Worse than road rage, or academic rage. We’re talking Meeting Rage!

HULK SMASH.

But I digress.

I’m fully expecting tonight to be a long night. Same goes for the rest of the week. Weeeeeeeeeee! Wait, not Weeeeeeeeeee! The opposite of that. Boooooooooo!

Regardless of how insane this week has become, and specifically how many more hours I need to put in today to complete the things I need to complete so that I won’t feel like I’m drowning when I get to the office tomorrow, I’ve made the executive choice to head to yoga.

First and foremost, I really need to go to yoga. My body is feeling rather un-bendy and that just won’t do. I didn’t like how old-and-creeky I felt when I woke up this morning and yoga should surely correct that situation. The non-old-and-not-so-creeky version of Dan is far happier than the old-and-creeky version. Old-and-cranky Dan is an angry Dan.

Second and just as important, I need to make sure that I take time to relax, quiet my mind, and breathe; failure to do so will leave me far more on-edge than caused by delaying my work to take this much-needed break. Relaxed Dan is far less likely to be a danger to himself or those around him. He’s far less likely to suffer from the most common varieties of aforementioned rage.

Third, I’m supposed to be training for the Goofy race in January. That includes getting bendy as often as I can so that I can keep up my running schedule. Running makes me happy. It also prevents me from gaining so much weight that my shirts and pants rip apart when I flex my very manly muscles1.

For all of these reasons and more, it really is in the best interest of society that I go to yoga despite my overcrowded to-do list. Clearly if I don’t, we risk the ever-present possibility of awaking the raging man-beast inside. I can’t have that on my conscience.


1 Ha!


5 Comments Add yours

  1. When I am having a tough week I like to get my hulk smash on and lift heavy weights at the gym. Exerting myself really hard helps me get my frustration out. For me yoga is when I am already in a good mood and want to keep it going.

Leave a Reply

