Challenge Accepted

Canada – let’s run it.

Yesterday I received an email from Rick. This isn’t out of the ordinary in any way, shape, or form. We email each other relatively frequently, mainly because we enjoy throwing insults at each other at random moments throughout the day.

For example, I like to remind Rick that he is ugly (ZING!), even though he isn’t. It keeps him grounded. Ha!

But more importantly, we both love challenges, travel, shenanigans, and adventures. And if we can combine those into one epic excursion, even better.

So when Rick sent me this link to the list of Canada’s most scenic marathons (as voted on by people who ran them) and suggested I add it to my list of things to do, my first thought was Hells ya. My second thought was I’ll be able to kill two birds with one stone because I’ll be able to complete this challenge while also being able to knock off the visit all Canadian provinces and territories challenge in the process. Talk about being efficient. And I’m nothing if not efficient.

And so dear readers, I am announcing my newest challenge, and the shiniest new item on my Not-So-Bucket-List list (item #291): I will run at least one marathon in each of the Canadian provinces or territories over the next 5 years. I’m actually hoping to be able to cross this off my list in 3 years, but I figure I should give myself some wiggle room.

Everyone deserves a little wiggle room.


Potential Marathon List:


4 Comments Add yours

  1. Well, you certainly made my day! First off, CONGRATULATIONS on your commitment to BEING ALL THAT YOU CAN BE. This is the exact outcome my site TimeToKickBuTs.com strives for – and that article you are basing your marathons on came from me. You MADE MY DAY! As well as your upcoming 5 years – it will be AWESOME!!!

    I would love for you to report back on those marathons (now you’d REALLY be commited! 😉 – how about guest blogging on my site?

    Again – you are going to have A BLAST! LUV iT!!

    ~ Doris Blanchet
    TimeToKiCKBuTs.com Instigator

    1. dangillis says:

      I’d love to guest blog. The challenge will truly begin sometime in the new year as I’m currently training for the Goofy Race in January. I’ll keep you posted 🙂

Leave a Reply

