My New Favourite Things

I could get used to this.

My man cave continues to develop.

Today, after a rather enjoyable day on campus, I was joined by my brother and my dad and we ventured off to the local Home Depot. Our purpose – purchase my new fireplace.

After the flood in August, I decided to hold off buying the fireplace until the hardwood floors were installed. The last thing I needed was more stuff in my condo.

As you may recall, the task of installing my new floors was accomplished earlier this week. And holy hell do I love them. I mean really, if someone told me I’d love my new floors as much as I do, I’d say they were insane. But I do love them. They’re just so damn shiny and new.

But I have a confession to make. As awesome as the floor is, it has only been improved by the addition of my new fireplace. It’s as if they were meant to be together – long-lost loves finally brought together by the awesome power of a flood. It’s better than any romance novel out there. Okay – maybe not any romance novel – but I’m sure it’s eleventy billion times better than Twilight or 50 Shades of Grey1.

I digress.

The awesome news is that my condo is slowly becoming a home again. New floors. New fireplace. New washer and dryer. While the laundry room floors need to be installed, and all of the painting is still to occur, I’m feeling more relaxed at home than I have since the middle of August. And that, dear friends, is a great thing.


1 Full disclosure – I’ve never read either book series. Nor do I plan to.


 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    We because more twinsies every day. I also have a lovely fireplace that warms me with its warming glowing warming glow. Now I just need some hardwood floors.

Leave a Reply

