A Nerd Paradise

Sometimes beer wins.

Depending on the day of the week and the time of day my office typically takes the form of, well, an office. It contains a pretty sweet computer with dual monitors, a ridiculous number of textbooks, several servers, battery backups, a white board, and other academic and compu-geek related bric-a-brac. In short, it is a nerd’s paradise. Or at least, my version of a nerd’s paradise.

However, as much as I love my own personal nerd-paradise, I find it absolutely essential to venture beyond the confines of my office from time to time. During those magical days when I escape my academic walls, my office is transformed into something altogether more wonderful: an office that includes delicious food and drink. And by that, I mean that my office is transformed into one of the many places in downtown Guelph that I like to frequent.

Today was one of those days where the Woolwich Arrow, the Red Brick Cafe, and the Baker Street Station all served as temporary office. Best set of offices ever? I think so.

The weird thing – I think – is that I find that I’m more productive in a public setting. That is, I am easily distracted in my office by everything and nothing. Bird chirping outside? I need to investigate. Random noise in the hall? Obviously I need to check that out. Twitter feed updates? You know I have to read all of that. But put me in a public setting and I have a ridiculous ability to tune everything out. Random couple arguing? Who cares? Terrible cheesy 80s music? Say what now? None of it is important because I tend to tune out almost all of the things that happen around me while I’m in one of my non-office offices.

Anyway, all of this is to say that I typically work downtown and find myself more productive than what one might expect – except of course for tonight. While I managed to get in several quality hours of work, I ended the eve on a bit of a mathematical cliffhanger. Normally this would frustrate me because, clearly, there’s an answer and I’m just not getting it. But tonight I was okay with packing things up and letting it go until the morning.

Why?

Simple really. Tonight the beer won out.


5 Comments Add yours

  1. skycastles says:

    Sometimes, you just need to throw in the towel and let the beer win. No harm, no foul.

Leave a Reply

