Fa La La La La La

This Christmas sweater and turtleneck combo is so bad, words fail me. Image found here: frockon.com/2011/12/20/an-ode-to-the-ugly-christmas-sweater/

So it’s November 24th, which means that Christmas eve is but 30 days away. For whatever reason my mind hadn’t completely accepted this fact. I didn’t particularly feel any Christmas spirit despite having several Christmas parties already penciled into my calendar. Braving the malls over the past few weekends1 also didn’t seem to help.

Perhaps my lack of spirit was a function of the excessively long Christmas buildup. I of course refer to the Christmas displays that were out in stores even before Halloween was over. I also refer to the rather early playing of Christmas music I heard while walking through the mall even before Remembrance Day. Call me old-time-y, but I like to celebrate one holiday at a time.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a Grinch, I just feel that some of the sparkle that is Christmas is lost when the holiday requires 6 months of prep time.

Anyway, today I decided to once again brave the malls in an attempt to cross some things off of my Christmas naughty and nice list. I also hoped that this would be the thing that switched my Scrooge switch to low.

I won’t say the attempt was a complete failure: the Christmas tunes were pleasant, spirits seemed high, and there was some fantastic people watching to be had2. While I’m not completely into Christmas mode as of yet, I can say that the Christmas spirit is building. Regardless, I left the mall with not a single thing crossed off my naughty and nice list. Perhaps last-minute panic shopping is what I need to find that perfect gift for that special someone.

No matter – I may try again tomorrow. This time, however, I’m going more prepared. Instead of a list of who’s naughty and nice, I’m going to try to come up with ideas of what said people on that list might like. Planning – it’s the secret to Christmas shopping. Well, that and a little pre-shopping cheer3. That’s a rule, you should write it down.


1 Unsuccessfully, I might add. Unless buying myself a latte, lunch, and a Keurig coffee maker can be called successful Christmas shopping.

2 To the twenty-something who opted to pair jogging pants with a sports jacket and t-shirt – I’m not quite sure what image you were going with, but I question your choices. Ha! I kill me.

3 Read Scotch.


 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    You bought a Keurig coffee maker? Does that mean you will no longer drink Starbucks?? Which means that I may no longer get free Starbucks???

    1. dangillis says:

      LOL. I did. But it does not in any way mean that I no longer drink Starbucks – I bought Starbucks Keurig packets. Also, I still go to Starbucks. Which means I may still buy you Starbucks.

      I clearly spoil you.

Leave a Reply

