I Am So Smart, SMRT

Facepalm. That is all.

Every now and then I have a moment where I’m on. You know those moments. We all have them. We’re in a situation where we need to know something quickly, and for whatever reason – sufficient sleep, hard work, solid nutrition, hydration, planets aligning with stars, ascending moons, green clovers, blue diamonds, purple horseshoes, whatever – we’re able to provide any and all answers like it’s second nature, even when were required to think on our feet, synthesizing and integrating ideas and concepts on the fly. It’s as if our entire existence was to provide that very moment with the necessary clarity that only we could offer.

This post is not about one of those moments.

Picture me walking home from the office this evening. It’s already dark and I’m cold the minute I step outside. Picture me checking email as I go. Picture me responding to emails, because I’m nothing if not efficient with my time. Picture me waiting patiently for the light to change to indicate that it is safe for me to cross the street. Picture me crossing the street, taking a moment to say hello to a graduate student who just so happens to be walking in the opposite direction. Realize that I am at least somewhat aware of my surroundings. Realize also that my night vision sucks, especially after being slightly longer than momentarily blinded by the cars waiting for me to cross the street.

Can you picture that? Got that in your head? Good.

Now picture me walking into a fence. A bright orange fence. A bright orange fence that stands at least as tall as me. A bright orange fence that stands at least as tall as me and that I didn’t see.

Yup. S. M. R. T. That’s me.


5 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    I laughed out loud! So funny!

    1. dangillis says:

      Ya – I had to laugh after the initial “holy shit, what just hit me?” reaction. Strangely, no one around me seemed to notice.

  2. Evans says:

    Reblogged this on Evans' Space and commented:
    Nice read for my lunch break…

    1. dangillis says:

      Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed, and thanks for sharing the post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

