Winding Down

Fall 2012 is almost over.

So apparently today was the last formal day of class – well, at least for the course I teach. Tomorrow is the last day I will meet with my students this semester in a non-exam setting. Crazy. I honestly can’t believe how fast the semester has gone. It seems like only yesterday that I was meeting them for the first time, wondering how they might react to the course, their semester long project, me.

As with any course we’ve had our ups and downs, but I can honestly say that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed teaching this class. Was it a lot of work? Hells ya – more so than any other course I’ve taught over the past 6 or so years. But was it fun? Double hells ya. That’s not to say that there weren’t frustrating moments, because there were, but the awesome moments far outweighed the not so awesome moments.

One of my favourite moments came when I had to be late for class due to meetings in Waterloo. As I wrote here, I was more than impressed when, on arriving to class 30 minutes late, I found the students in a very active conversation about their major project – everyone actively engaged and involved. It was amazing and inspiring, and one of the moments that I’ll keep with me long after the course is over.

As I mentioned earlier, tomorrow the students will present their final projects. I’m pretty sure that at this very moment they are all still madly working, perfecting their presentations and organizing their reports. I say this confidently because they have already demonstrated their work ethic, and their commitment to the final project over the course of the semester.

I honestly can’t wait to see their final projects tomorrow. In a way, it feels a little like Christmas eve.


3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

