Take Two Of These And Call Me In The Morning

I like this to-do list. I like it a lot.
I like this to-do list. I like it a lot.

I just got home after a rather fun day that included exactly what the to-do list to the left required I do today1. This is probably the first time in I don’t know how long that I actually finished a to-do list. Amazing!

Being the über productive fellow that I am, I also threw in a visit with my Doctor of Chiropractic today. The goal: to continue working on some weird shoulder muscle tightness that I’ve developed over the past few months. After only four, maybe five visits, it’s amazing how much better my shoulder feels2. Given all of the training that I’m going to be doing for Goofy, I’ve decided that I need to keep going at least twice a week to ensure that I’m in tip-top form come race day.

Come to think of it, I should probably set up a weekly massage as well. I’m going to use Goofy as an excuse for this too, but let’s be real – massage doesn’t need a reason3.

On the topic of health, and based solely on the demonic sounds that have replaced my voice, I’m going to make the assumption that I’m breeding some sort of plague in my chest or throat. To describe my voice in another way, I sound as if I’ve spent a lifetime smoking and drinking scotch4. What’s weird is that I don’t feel sick. I’m a little tired. My eyes, ears, and throat feel a little scratchy – but not sick scratchy. Perhaps I’m just hoping that it’s allergies. Wishful thinking, I’m sure.

To deal with whatever might be invading my body, I’ve decided to do what any sane person would do. I’ve poured myself a scotch. When this one is done, I’m going to have another. Don’t judge me – it’s medicine.


1 FYI – see Life of Pi. It’s fantastic.

2 Thanks Dr. Mark.

3 That’s so a rule.

4 Mmmmm, scotch.


7 Comments Add yours

  1. Mariajose says:

    I love the Chriopractor. She’s my best friend sometimes. And the shoulder blade area and the muscles surrounding it are usually the ones that get the most tense with running. If you work your back, biceps and triceps the stress on this area will actually diminish. I still go visit her at least once a month and even more so before a race to make sure I’m in tip top shape as well.
    As for to-do lists, you’re one of the lucky ones. I’ve never, ever finished one. It seems the moment you finish an item two pop up, its a never ending list I tell you.

    1. dangillis says:

      Agreed – to-do lists are the hydra of lists.

  2. Great to hear that you use Chiropractic Care for being in ‘tip top order’ – it’s awesome what it does for you huh!

Leave a Reply

