More Hours Please

More of these please.

I almost got up at 7am this morning. Almost. Then I realized that I was still exhausted, what with this silly cold robbing me of my energies, so I promptly rolled over and went back to sleep. Normally I’d embrace the exhaustion and just get up and on with my day. However, given that December is all about being über healthy, I figured shaking this cold should be the top priority on my list. That, and training for the Goofy Race of course.

Amazingly I slept until 10:30 am. Given that I went to bed at 2:30 am, this was an epic sleep in my books. When I finally dragged my butt out of bed I felt significantly better than when my head had first hit the pillow. Not perfect, but getting there.

I soon found myself in the kitchen fumbling with the Keurig machine and trying to decide which type of coffee to make. During a short break in an internal dialogue debating the benefits of a dark roast versus a vanilla flavoured light roast, I thought about the list of things I wanted to accomplish today. The minute I did I immediately wanted to punch my 7:30 am self for not getting out of bed sooner. How in the hell am I supposed to get all of this stuff done today?

As I stood there waiting for my tasty vanilla light roast to brew, I remembered that today was Saturday. I don’t have to do any of this stuff today. In fact, I could sit my ass on the couch for the entire day eating bon bons and not need to justify it to anyone but myself. That of course was the problem; justifying it to myself.

Anyway, I spent some time trying to figure out how I would get everything accomplished. By the end of that mental exercise I realized that I’d need about 4 extra hours in my day; that, or I’d have to drop 4 hours worth of activities.

My mind immediately went to my training run. If I dropped that from my list I would have at least 2 extra hours (including stretching). And given that I’m still sick, it only makes sense not to run, I thought.

For whatever reason, the other voice in my head took over. 

Shut your pie hole Gillis. You are running today, and there will be no further debate. 

My other voice can be a bit demanding.

After that, a calm came over me. I suddenly knew how today would play out. I’d spend my post-breakfast hours cleaning the kitchen and living room, then I’d tidy up my bedroom. When those activities were complete, I’d lace up my shoes and get my ass on the treadmill. Whatever happened after that would happen without a plan. I’d either complete my list, or I wouldn’t. It didn’t matter. All that mattered was that I get on the treadmill and put in the mileage I needed to in order to prepare myself for Goofy.

And that, dear readers, is what I did. And I have to say, it was a rather fantastic day. I cleaned. I ran. I stretched. I had dinner with friends. I hung out with the wee fuzzball. I got groceries. I went Christmas shopping. And now – now I’m just finishing up a delicious IPA that my friend Justin not only delivered, he also made.

Perhaps I should sleep in until 10:30 every Saturday.


6 Comments Add yours

  1. Gilli says:

    YES! I’m glad I’m not the only one whose post semester plans specifically include “Sit on the couch and eat bon bons.” No joke, this is totally the only thing I want to do:) But yay for getting other stuff done too!

    1. dangillis says:

      That will be my Christmas morning I think. Lounge, eat, drink, nap, repeat. W00t!

  2. Mmm, delicious International Phonetic Alphabets

    1. dangillis says:

      Oops. Wrong link. LOL.

Leave a Reply

