What I’m Doing After The World Ends

So when this thing ends, so do we. Apparently. Riiiiiiiight.

So apparently 2012 is coming to a close. And I don’t mean the catastrophic close that people are imagining is about to befall us given the end of the Mayan calendar. I simply mean that there are only a few weeks left in this particular temporal unit.

Why do I bring this up?

Well, it’s at this point in the year that I like to take some time to reflect on where I’ve been, and what I’ve managed to accomplish in 365 days1. You know – take stock; savour my successes, identify my failures. And while I will be doing this over the next few days, this post is not specifically about either my successes or failures in 2012.

Instead, this post is a call for ideas. You see, while I’m reflecting, I’m also creating a new mental list of goals that I want to set for the new year. Some goals come to me easily, others require a bit of mental magic to determine if they are even in the realm of possibility. Some of the goals are athletic, some are travel-based, others are crazy full-of-awesome adventures. The point is, goals are identified, processed, talked about, and developed, until they can be written down as the official set for the new year.

While I’m not going to reveal my goal-list today (that’ll come later in the month), you’ll be unsurprised to learn that it will include running, biking, and yoga. But here is where I need your help; I need to identify other goals. What are some of the crazy things that you’ve seen or heard of that only a crazy person might do? Are there places I should visit? Are there photos I should take? Should I learn to cook something? Should I climb another mountain? Any and all ideas are welcome – just leave them in the comments section below.

Thanks all y’all. And here’s looking forward to a new year filled with adventures and shenanigans.


1 Or in the case of this year, 366.


4 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    What about finding a project to work on with Dr. Beth? Some sort of a contract or grant application or some other awesome brain-filled adventure?

    1. dangillis says:

      I think this fits perfectly into my list of things to do.

  2. Thanks for the shout-out! Looking forward to seeing your own goal list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

