Goals For 2013

This list is null and void if the predicted Mayan apocalypse turns out to be true.

Being a man who likes lists, it should probably come as no surprise that I’ve decided to set up a list of things1 I’d like to accomplish in 2013.

Some of the goals are on the list because I didn’t quite meet them in 2012.

Some of the goals are exactly the same as other goals I set in 20122.

Some of the goals extend my successes from previous years.

And some of the goals – well – some of the goals are just crazy new adventures that my brain put together and now I want need to attempt.

So, without further ado, I present to you my glorious list of crazy adventures, goals, and other such action items for 2013:

  • Run 1610 km (1000 miles)
  • Walk 1610 km (1000 miles)
  • Bike 1610 km (1000 miles)
  • Enter and run 12 races
  • Run at least 12 half marathons (or greater)
  • Run at least 3 marathons
  • Visit New York City at least once
  • Publish 1 post per week on my professor blog
  • Compete in the Tough Mudder
  • Submit at least 5 papers to peer reviewed journals
  • Continue to build my scotch collection (with at least 6 new bottles in 2013)
  • Install hardwood flooring in my bedrooms
  • Paint the bedrooms and bathroom
  • Cook or bake at least 12 new things
  • Run at least 1 marathon in a province (or territory) other than Ontario
  • Drink more water
  • Stretch more
  • Conquer Temple Mountain
  • Do the CN Tower climb – sub 16 minutes
  • Do the CN Tower Edge Walk again
  • Skydive again
  • Travel to Ottawa to visit Matt
  • Travel to Calgary to visit Rick
  • Travel to Vancouver to visit Beth
  • Go Bungee jumping
  • Get more sleep (> 5 hrs 36 mins per night – my current average)
  • Epic bike ride with Mel

Of course, this list is a draft and clearly open to additions – so feel free to suggest any and all crazy adventures you can think of that you think I’d be interested in.

And a note to 2013: you’re going to be awesome.


1 Note: these are goals, not resolutions. I don’t make resolutions because I will almost always break my resolutions. It’s a thing I do.

2 Because why do something once when you can do it twice?


7 Comments Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on alisueonthemove and commented:
    I want my goals to be as great/amazing as these. I really like the 1,000 mile ones.

    1. dangillis says:

      Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed the list.

  2. Beth says:

    Hooray! I made the list!

    Also, do you get bonus points if you combine items on the list? Like, if you visit me in Vancouver and then we write a paper for peer-review publication while bungee jumping?

    1. dangillis says:

      I believe the answer to that question is yes, yes, a thousand times yes. Also yes.

  3. High five – the Tough Mudder is on my list for 2013 too!

    As a fellow goal-setting and list aficionado, one thing I’ve learned is that making goals more specific helps. When I say “Next year I’m going to stretch more,” I usually don’t. When I say “I’m going to my yoga class once a week and I’m going to stretch for 15 minutes after each of my crossfit workouts,” I’m more likely to do it. Have you noticed the same thing?

    Love your list! It’s going to be a great year!

    1. dangillis says:

      It varies. Even when I’m specific sometimes I slack off. I keep a lot of data on my activities and make a point of checking out the summaries frequently. Doing that seems to keep me on track.

Leave a Reply

