Christmas Cheer

Coconut Irish cream? Don’t mind if I do.

A few days ago, my friend Dr. Julie (via Dr. Vicky) passed along a recipe she had received from someone she knows on the Twitter1. The recipe in question was for a Bailey’s type Irish cream. However, there was a twist. This was a recipe for Irish cream that I could drink.

Why’s that? you ask.

Well, it just so happens that this particular recipe is made with coconut milk. Delicious, tasty, and so not dairy; is there anything that coconut milk can’t do?

Anyway, since I have not been able to drink Irish cream for some time – what with dairy always wanting to burst forth from my insides like the alien baby that it is – I knew the minute that the recipe was passed on that I would have to try it out.

Of course, I had to modify the recipe because I didn’t have the required Jameson’s Irish Whiskey on hand. I did however have an unopened bottle of Crown Royal.

The recipe was simple – which is good because my culinary skills demand simple. After combining 2 cans of coconut milk (one light, one full) and half a cup of brown sugar, and then bringing it to a slow boil for about 10 minutes, I added the magic. In this case the magic was half a cup of strong coffee and a cup of boozy goodness.

Verdict – after chilling – I can only say that this tastes like the greatest thing in the history of ever. You really need to try this.


1 At least that’s where I think it came from. My memory is fuzzy – probably from drinking all of this Coconut Irish cream2.

2 Don’t judge me. It’s delicious.


3 Comments Add yours

  1. pattyabr says:

    Thanks for the mention on your blog! All my girlfriends got it as a gift and thought it was fabulous!

    1. dangillis says:

      The next time I make it I’m going to add some vanilla and chocolate – why didn’t I think of that? I should have read your post before I made it 🙂

      1. pattyabr says:

        Chocolate makes it even better! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

