A Gathering Of Nerds

Celebrating a very nerdy holiday at Baker Street Station. Photo by Jasper Tey.

Tonight’s post will be quick because I just finished a half marathon as part of Goofy training. To say that my body is a wee bit tired is an understatement. I probably should have eaten more prior to running. Live and learn. I’m just hoping that the Running Elves repair my body overnight so that I can get in my last long run (I think) of 2012 tomorrow. Running Elves are a thing, right?

I digress.

Today the nerds1 descended on Baker Street Station to enjoy some delicious food, some nerdly discussions2, and a lot of laughs3. While we aren’t always able to get together as often as we’d like due to some rather major life changes in the group – children, marriages, new jobs, new homes – I’m always appreciative of days like today when calendars align and nerd-caucus can be called to order.

After several hours of chatting and eating, we eventually had to call the meeting to a close. Being the holidays, everyone had places to be and other people to see. Hugs and high-fives were handed out, as well as talk of future meetings. It was a little bittersweet to be honest, but I know we’ll get together again soon. Nerds are nothing if not organized.

Following the meeting I chatted with Rick as we headed over to our friend Manon’s place for a quick visit. We agreed that one of the best things about nerd-caucus is that no matter how far apart we are, how much our lives have changed, we always pick up where we left off. We take the time to catch up on the life that has happened between visits, but then we spend most of our time laughing and carrying on as we always did when we were in school together.

I really am fortunate to have such an amazing group of people in my life. Being surrounded by people that are not only intelligent, but caring, thoughtful and well-rounded is inspiring. Thanks nerds for making today amazing. I can’t wait to see you all again.


1 Listing clockwise from where I sat: Rob, Rick, Jenn, Warren, Kian (Jenn and Warren’s baby boy – who is surely going to be a nerd given the nerdly nature of his parents), Steph, Jasper, Lorna, and me.

2 About math pedagogy no less.

3 Which are very nicely documented by Jasper in the video embedded below.



 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    Sounds like feelings and sentiments in this post. Eww.

    1. dangillis says:

      True story. It was full of sentiments. Apparently buried beneath my black black heart is the faintest spectre of emotion. Who knew?

Leave a Reply

