Anchor And Compass

Around this time last year the good folks at WordPress sent me an email to inform me that they had done some crunching of my blog numbers. While these might be boring for some, I find them fascinating. Part of this fascination is my inherent love of all things number-y. But there’s also a large chunk of fascination that I attribute to the story behind the numbers.

For example – while the raw number of 47000 page views (~128.42 per day) is fascinating, I’m more amazed that so many people thought to drop by my wee blog to view it. I know I’ve said this before, but I never started this blog with the expectation that it would reach so many people – I simply wanted a place to record my thoughts, my travels, my adventures, and my goals. I assumed that my family or a few friends might read it. I had no idea it would grow to what it is today. The fact that over 800 people have subscribed to the blog in some way blows my mind. The fact that so many others find their way here and opt to stick around to check things out leaves me gobsmacked.

Interestingly, my most popular posts this year were all written last year. The fact that older posts have such staying power is pretty sweet, especially given that some were related to Pi. Those of you who know me or read this blog on a regular basis will understand the giddy delight I derive from this knowledge. Of course, my post entitled Sad Babies Are The Saddest Babies Of All – which just so happens to be my most popular post ever – makes me delight for a completely different reason. I mean, why that particular post draws people to my blog is beyond me. Even better (worse?), one of the search terms that brings a lot of people to my blog is sad baby. Are there really that many parents out there that are worried that their babies are sad? Maybe this is normal – but I’m not a parent so I really have no idea.

Beyond the numbers, there remains the fact that this blog has brought me so much more than I ever thought it could. I never expected it to play such an important role in my daily life. I never expected it to help me set and achieve goals. I never expected it to be a place where I could go to reflect on my accomplishments and my failures. I never expected it to remind me of the road that I have travelled. And yet here I am at the end of 2012 realizing that it has been, in a way, both my anchor and my compass along the journey that is my life; keeping me true to my goals, allowing me to identify and accept my limitations, reminding me of where I’ve been, and pushing me to success beyond that which I might have thought I could achieve only a few years ago.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my ramblings. Thank you again for reading, for commenting, and for sharing these posts with others. It really does mean a lot to me.

The full WordPress report/infographic can be found below.

Click here to see the complete report.


2 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    How did I manage to be both your #2 and #3 most prolific commenter (according to the full report that you linked to)? I didn’t know I was commenting under two different – yet identical looking – accounts!

    Four of my five most popular posts were writing in 2010 (with the remaining one being in 2011). So apparently my new material isn’t going over as well as my classics 😉

    1. dangillis says:

      No idea. I thought that was weird too.

Leave a Reply

