996 Out Of 1000 Ain’t Bad

My @World_Rankin stats – slightly off though since the stats exclude one of my long runs.

Earlier today I completed my last long run of the year – a 13.25 mile (~21.32 km) jaunt on the treadmill. I had hoped to see my treadmill cross over the 1000 mile marker today, but after my run and cool down walk I had only managed to reach 996 miles. I thought about running the extra 4 miles, but decided I shouldn’t push a potential injury.

I also reasoned that if Meatloaf was okay with 2 out of 3, than surely I could be okay with 996 out of 1000. Also – how cool will it be to start 2013 by crossing off another item from my epically long list of things I want to do. If I can put in the time to run 4 miles tomorrow, I’ll be able to start 2013 by attacking my Not-So-Bucket-List list.

The other cool thing about today’s run – it marked my 15th half marathon for the year. Crazy!

Even crazier? Fully one-third of those half marathons happened this month1. I had no idea I had a 5 half marathon month in me. I’m stoked at how well this month went. And it gives me hope that I’ll easily be able to accomplish 18 half marathons next year (or perhaps even 24).

Reviewing my RunKeeper stats for the month, again, I’m beyond pleased. I ran a total of 206.7 km2 in 17 hours 50 minutes and 9 seconds, which translates to an average pace of 5 minutes 11 seconds per kilometre. All of that running burned 13753 Calories, equivalent to about 86 Starbucks Vanilla Soy Lattes. Of the 206.7 km I ran in December, slightly more than 70 of those happened in the past four days. That’s right folks – I managed to run 44 miles (~70.8 km) in 4 days. To say that I’m gobsmacked would be an understatement.

What a great way to end 2012.

Anyway, I’m off to ring in the New Year. You’ll be able to recognize me because I’ll be the guy wearing the bright red compression socks. Nothing says Happy New Year like bright red compression socks.

Happy New Year all y’all.


1 December 3, 9, 19, 29, and 31.

2 Earlier I had reported on Twitter that I had run slightly more than 180km. What I had forgotten was that one of my runs was not posted to Twitter so the bot that tallies the information (@world_rankin) wasn’t able to include it. Which means my ranking of 156 out of 12,6943 people is also off4.

3 This was modified by @world_rankin within the last hour as I originally had posted on Twitter that I ranked 153rd out of 12670.

4 Holy hell – that’s in the top 1.2% of all the runners that post their info to Twitter. Crazy!


3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

