What I Learned Today, Again

You are what you eat. In this case, monsters eat monsters. I eat stupid. 

SOOOOOOO, apparently that old saying You are what you eat is true.

How do I know this?

Well today I had to jump on the treadmill to run my last long race before I head to Florida for the Goofy Race. Given that I wanted to run a 30+ km run, you’d assume that I would have planned appropriately. And for the most part I did.

I slept an appropriate length of time. I stretched. I went for a massage. I relaxed. I visualized the run; seeing mile after mile pass as I ran until the necessary distance was covered. And I ate.

Oh wait. No I didn’t.

Of course, I didn’t realize this until shortly after jumping on the treadmill. Within 4 miles I realized something was off. I felt wobbly. I felt a bit yarfy. Actually, I felt a lot yarfy. Strangely, my legs felt strong, and my breathing felt strong, but at the same time I felt weak – really weak. I pondered if it was my mind playing tricks on me, but I soon realized it wasn’t some sort of mind game. I was pale – really pale. And the more I ran the more I felt like I was going to yarf.

Fortunately I didn’t yarf. I did manage to push out another 4 miles, eventually stopping at 8. It wasn’t pretty – I looked like a bag-o-smashed-hammers – but I did it.

So, getting back to the old saying, you might be wondering what I ate today.

The answer to that is simple. I ate a big bag of stupid. 

I hate when I do that.


3 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    I ate stupid. Best. Ever.

Leave a Reply

