Crushed Duck

Get ready Donald – I’m coming for you.

The first part of the Goofy challenge is complete, and as such I am now the proud owner of this shiny new golden Donald Duck medal.

Ooooooh. Ahhhhhhh.

But dear readers, this is only the first part of my challenge. In about 8 hours, Mark and I will be lining up again for the next 42.2 kilometers of running. If the first 21.1 are representative of the entire race, tomorrow is going to be awesome.

Anyway, I’ll write more about the experience later. For now I need my rest.

I’m going to dream about kicking a certain dog’s butt. That’s right Goofy, I’m still coming for you.

Oh – and if you want to follow along as Mark and I run the marathon, click here. The race starts at 5:30am. W00t!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    I’m reading this on my phone so I can’t see what time you posted this and thus I don’t know what time 8 hours from now is. But I’m guessing it will be something like 5:30 am in Florida, which is 2:30 am where I live in the past. Sadly, I don’t think I’ll be up by then… It even by the time you are done (you do ~4 hrs for a marathon, right?). So I’ll send you my best wishes to CRUSH GOOFY!! Which I totally know you will do!

    And now my break time is over – I’m on a mountain right now and it’s time for me to hit the slopes!

    GO DR. DAN GO!!!

    1. dangillis says:

      Hmm, this initially went to spam?!? How does that make any sense?

      Anyway, thanks Dr. Beth.

  2. Sounds like an amazing experience! I too am a runner, though I typically race 5k. I have always been fascinated by ultra running.

    1. dangillis says:

      It was a lot of fun. I’m currently thinking about a 50k in Toronto/niagara this summer. For now – rest 🙂

      1. Ahhh I cannot imagine how tired you are right now. Enjoy the rest! And I think trail running would be fantastic, but I am mainly a swimmer at the moment.

  3. Dash says:

    Congratulations on completing the first part of the Goofy challenge and best of luck for the marathon today!
    I love that Donald Duck medal, it’s the whole reason why the race is on my wish list.

    1. dangillis says:

      Thanks! The race is a lot of fun, especially when you can take the time to stop to enjoy the scenery or get your picture taken with one of the many Disney characters that line the route.

  4. Alyssa says:

    Congrats and good luck on the next race!

Leave a Reply

