RIP Goofy

Celebrating our Goofy Race with Scrooge McDuck.

Despite the blisters and the tight muscles and the overworked hamstrings and quads, I can’t stop laughing and smiling and giggling about today.

Mark and I crushed Goofy.

And it was awesome. Don’t get me wrong – it was tough – but to end a race like that smiling and laughing and feeling as good as we did is amazing.

Today’s Mickey Mouse marathon – the second leg of the Goofy Race – started at 5:30am, just like the Donald Duck half marathon on Saturday. I was amazed at the number of people. A sea of people – of all shapes and sizes. Thousands. All to run 42.2 kilometers through the Disney Parks.

The marathon started with a burst of fireworks and then we were off. Along the way, while weaving in and out of people, we saw some great costumes and some familiar Disney characters. We stopped for photos with a few, including Captain Jack Sparrow, several villains, and the characters of Monsters Inc. We also stopped for photos of random signage, because the signs were hilarious (I’ll post these and other pictures as soon as I can).

The race wound its way through all of the parks. Particularly fun was being able to run through the race track – which was filled with vintage cars and some beautiful (and expensive) new cars. I also enjoyed racing around the baseball stadium.

Mark and I also grabbed a photo with a firefighter from Detroit who ran the Goofy challenge like us. While we didn’t grab his name, he was easy to spot. He ran both races in full firefighter garb – helmet, protective gear, and oxygen tank. Amazing.

Anyway, the race was amazing and painful and difficult and everything that makes a challenge achieved worth the effort. I don’t remember exactly when I decided to take on this challenge, but I’m very glad I did. I think my laughter and smile at the end of the race – my giddiness in the face of physical exhaustion – was a result of pushing myself beyond. A reminder that I can do whatever I put my mind to if I only get off my ass and make the first step. A reminder that I am capable of surprising myself. A reminder that I am an athlete.

Of course, I wouldn’t be here if not for Mark – my running partner-in-crime. Thanks buddy. Goofy wouldn’t have been the same without you. And I can’t wait to see what our next big adventure is going to be.

Finally, thanks to everyone for your tweets and messages. They had both Mark and me laughing, a lot.

Anyway, I’m exhausted so I’m going to head to bed now – with a huge smile on my face.

Night all y’all.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    A great big congrats to you, Dr. Dan, for CRUSHING GOOFY! You are an athlete. You are an inspiration. You are also a little goofy, but I’m sure you wouldn’t have it any other way! =)

    I can’t wait to see all the other photos!

    1. dangillis says:

      Thanks Beth. I’m just waiting for Mark to send me the pics he has and then to get some time to upload them. I’m also debating on buying some of the Disney photos that were just emailed to me via the interwebs.

  2. Dash says:

    Congratulations! You did an awesome job! Those medals are amazing too – I’ve got a serious case of medal-envy

    1. dangillis says:

      Thanks šŸ™‚ These are probably some of my favourite medals.

Leave a Reply

