What’s Next?

Run Goofy, run.

So now that the Goofy challenge is over, I’ve found myself spending the last few days relaxing, getting massages, visiting the chiropractor, eating, eating some more, and, well, eating1. While none of these things are bad, except for maybe the extreme laziness and gluttony I’ve adopted as a lifestyle2, I’ve realized that I need a new adventure.

Sadly, I’m not exactly sure what it’s going to be.

I assume it will involve travel in February – possibly to London or Costa Rica or insert the name of some fancy place I’ve never been here. It may, perhaps, involve an ultra marathon3 in June. Or more skydiving or edge-walking in the summer. Or perhaps it’ll be something I haven’t yet thought of.

I guess the point I’m trying to make is that I’m wanderlusting and I have no particular thing to focus those wanderlusting energies on.

And so I leave it to you, dear readers, what should I do next? Leave your thoughts in the comments section below.


1 I guess I’ve also been working.

2 Some of my favourite deadly sins, in case anyone asks.

3 For those not in the know, an ultra marathon is anything longer than the typical 42.2 km required for a full marathon.


 

12 Comments Add yours

    1. dangillis says:

      It’s on my list. And I’ve been asked to join several teams already this year. The evidence seems to be pointing in this direction. 🙂

      1. Rob Pollak says:

        There’s one in Chicago called the urbanathalon (i think) that looks pretty cool.

        1. dangillis says:

          Cool. I’m going to check that out. I’ve got a buddy who lives in Chicago – would be great to visit him again.

  1. Beth says:

    You should go to Vancouver. I hear it’s pretty awesome out there.

    1. dangillis says:

      I love Vancouver. 🙂

  2. Alyssa says:

    Not sure when it is, but you could run the marathon on Machu Picu (sp?) in Peru…kill two birds with one stone there!

    1. dangillis says:

      Oooh, that’s an interesting idea. I do want to go back to Machu Picchu. And I do like running.

  3. Dan says:

    As someone who is from Costa Rica AND has an ultramarathon as his goal for 2013, I can speak directly to this post. My advice is: go to Costa Rica and run an ultra. And if you can do both at the same time, even better. Here’s a 50-miler you can try out: http://www.q50ultras.com/contenidos.php?idc=107

  4. smokeyhouse says:

    I absolutely think you should do what Dan said: Costa Rica and running. Best. Ever.

    1. dangillis says:

      I do like the idea of Costa Rica. Not sure if I’d be ready to take on an 80 km run. Yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

