Bad-Ass

Scars are bad-ass sexy, right?

It’s hard to believe but it has been roughly 2 years since I last set foot in Hawaii. Given my recent bout of wanderlust, you’ll understand that this has been preoccupying my mind of late.

Yesterday, January 22nd, would have been the two year anniversary of the day that my face was introduced to the hardwood floor in the house that Rick and I had rented for a week on the Big Island. The coming together of face and floor, albeit brief, was so powerful that it bore fruit; specifically the Harry Potter-esque lightning bolt scar that now sits above my left eyebrow, reminding me daily of our adventure1.

Sitting back and thinking about the past two years reminds me of how lucky I am. Not only did I have an amazing adventure in Hawaii, I managed to land an amazing job, travel a lot, run a lot, and climb several mountains. I got to know some amazing new friends in Guelph, and I got to take part in so many shenanigan filled adventures2.

Looking back at all of the things I’ve been able to do, I can’t help but smile and feel such gratitude that – for whatever reason – I’ve been able to do them. I’ve been very fortunate in my life to be surrounded by some amazing people – pushing me farther, helping me achieve things I never would have thought possible, encouraging me on my way, picking me up when I stumbled or fell. And I know that it’s because of them that I am able to do all of the things that I get to do. When I’ve had times of doubt, or questioned my ability to finish something that I had started, I often thought of the people who had provided support along the way. That thought was usually exactly what I needed to push me through to the finish line, whatever form that finish line took.

So here’s to all of the people who have inspired me, challenged me, and pushed me beyond. Here’s to everyone who encouraged my wanderlust, who supported my personal challenges, or smiled knowingly when I confided an as-of-yet unwritten desire to do something crazy. Thank you for everything.

Most of all, thank you for not fearing my ever-so bad-ass gangster scar. It’s pretty bad-ass, no?


1 In the event that you want to relive The Stitchening, click here – because Rick filmed the entire hospital face-stitching adventure. You are welcome. Note: not necessarily for those of weak constitution.

2 Shenanigan filled adventures being the best of all the adventures.


4 Comments Add yours

  1. aqcentric says:

    I wish my bad-ass knee scar was a sign of bad-assery. Sadly it is just a sign of tripping on a speed bump. While wearing flats. 😦

    1. dangillis says:

      Or it was the result of fending off a band of rogue zombie-children. I’m amazed you survived.

    1. dangillis says:

      It wasn’t nearly as bad as it looked.

Leave a Reply

