One In Forty Is One Too Many

From left to right, Beni, Lee-Jay, Danny, and me.

I’m very lucky. I’ve never known what it means to go hungry. I’ve never had to wonder where my next meal would come from. Sure, I’ve had to scramble during periods in my life to make rent or pay a bill, but I’ve always managed to find the cash. And when I couldn’t, I had parents who helped me out, or friends who had no problem buying me a coffee. Or a snack. Or a lunch. Or a dinner. Or all of the above.

I’m so very, very, very lucky.

Especially when you consider that over 850 thousand Canadians need to use emergency food services (like a food bank or pantry) each and every month. Let me repeat – 850 thousand people. That’s about 2.5% of our population. Think about it this way: imagine lining up 40 of your family and friends and telling one of them that they weren’t allowed to eat for the day. Or the week. Or the next month. 

That’s one of the reasons why we started the Farm To Fork project. Clearly there has to be a better way to help people who are in this situation, because no one should go to bed hungry, no child should go to school hungry, and no senior should wonder how they’re going to be able to feed themselves.

I know that Farm To Fork will improve the situation. I can feel it with every fibre of my being. The passion with which my students have taken on this project, the way it makes people feel – I know it can only make things better for a lot of people.

Today the Farm To Fork project was featured in the at Guelph online magazine. When I saw it posted, I couldn’t help but feel amazingly proud of my students. They’ve turned this from an idea into something tangible; something amazing. But more than that, they’ve started a conversation, an awareness, maybe even a movement, that can only do good.

Of course, we’ve only just begun. We need to beta test the prototype. We need to make sure that everything about Farm To Fork works perfectly before we officially launch in September. But we can only do this with your help. This is why we started the Microryza fundraising campaign. If you can, please donate. Every dollar donated gets us that much closer to our $15000 goal, which gets us that much closer to completing the project. Please help us help the 1 in 40 who need to use emergency food services each and every month.

Before I end this post, I’m going to leave you with a quote from an email I received today from someone who had read the at Guelph article I mentioned above:

“I saw on Facebook that your food bank project is going well, that is awesome. You should feel very proud. A roommate of mine has been struggling with money and health, and she cried when she came home with some pasta from the food bank. She was literally crying tears of joy because someone donated pasta and eggs so she could eat.”

This, dear friends, is why we must finish this project. Please help us.


2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

