Just A Wee Run

on
21.1 km of pure wholesome goodness.

So tomorrow is the big race – the Toronto Goodlife Marathon.

Some of you may recall that I was planning on running 42.2 km of marathon-y goodness tomorrow. However, given that my training schedule has been weak at best, I’ve opted to run only 21.1 km.

I know, right? I’m sooooooooooo lazy.

Ha!

Honestly, I do feel like a bit of a quitter making this change last-minute. I should have trained harder. I should have kept to my running schedule. I should have done a lot of things really.

But I didn’t.

And that’s life.

So instead, I’m going to enjoy the fact that I can run 21.1 km, because in the grand scheme of things, 21.1 km is more than 0 km. Also, I’m going to try to forgive myself just a little, what with my actually being human and mortal and not invincible. I sometimes think that I can do everything all of the time, and then get annoyed with myself for not performing up to some insane standard that I’ve created. Tomorrow, I’m just going to run the race and enjoy myself as much as I can. Because I should be able to run 21.1 km and feel proud of myself for doing so.

Take that stupid self-doubting self.

For those of you who want to follow along, the race starts at 8:30am. As per usual, I’ll be live streaming the race via RunKeeper. Feel free to tweet or message me as I run – your messages will be read to me. Note: I fully expect those messages to be uplifting, and inspiring, and hilarious, and in some cases, crude.

To follow along, click here.

To message me as I run, either text me (for those of you who know my number), or simply send me a tweet (@thedangillis). Mom and Dad – if you want to send a message you can do so by texting me through your iPad. But keep the messages short, as only the first 80 or so are read to me.

Leave a Reply

