Also – There Was Pie

on
Also, there was pie. Mmmm, pie.

So it’s been a few days – and by a few days I clearly mean more than 7 – since I last wrote something here at Consumed By Wanderlust. I could probably give you a list a mile long as to why I’ve been so tardy, but the truth is rather simple – weird stuff happens.

True story.

In this case, the weird stuff has all been good. Really good in fact. So good that I often have to remind myself that yes, this in fact is my life. 

Where to begin?

When last we spoke I was in the final stages of a fundraising campaign for the Farm To Fork project. With only a few hours remaining and having raised slightly over  $14000, I won’t lie, I was a wee bit stressed. Of course, I didn’t need to be. With all of the amazing people out there we managed to surpass our goal. In total, $15116 were raised.

If you want to know more about the fundraising campaign, you can check out this  interview by Ethan Perlstein of Microryza.

The interview was conducted on the Monday following the fundraising campaign. Ethan has also written up a summary of the campaign here (including some stats – which you all know I love).

All of this, however, didn’t quite define the weird in the weird stuff that happened. The weird came a little later in the week.

First up – I was asked (a number of weeks ago) to write a blog post for RunKeeper. For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been an avid user of the RunKeeper app for some time, and I credit the app with helping me become a healthier version of me. Anyway, my post went live on the RunKeeper blog on May 28th. Since then it has been read by I don’t know how many people, liked at least 130 times, and retweeted more than a few times. Crazy. If you’re up for extra reading, check it out here.

But that’s not all. Around the same time that I was asked to write a post for the RunKeeper blog, I was also asked to do another interview. To put this into proper context, I awoke one morning to find an email from the fine folks at RunKeeper. The email, which I initially assumed to be a standard update about my running stats (or possibly an update on global RunKeeper statistics), was actually to ask if I’d be willing to be interviewed by CNN.

Seriously. That CNN.

My reaction went something like this.

What the hell?

Is this a joke?

Wait, was this actually meant for me?

Whaaaaaaaaaaaa?

Of course, once I realized that this was in fact a real message intended for me, I quickly replied with a dignified HELLS YA.

Anyway, the story was officially released today. You can check it out here.

Beyond all of this, my week also included celebrations related to the pi-anniversary of my PhD. That is, my PhD officially turned ~3.14 years old earlier in the week. Naturally I celebrated with pie.


Related articles

Leave a Reply

