RIP Slacky McGee

on
I’d like to think I’m better than a monkey on a keyboard.

So remember that time when I used to write all the time on this blog, and then I went a month – A MONTH – without posting? Ya, those were good times. Wait. No they weren’t. I shouldn’t go this long without writing something, anything. It’s good for me to document what I’ve been up to, if only to keep a reminder of where I’ve been, what I’ve done, and where I’m going.

Fortunately the days of being Slacky McGee must come to an end, because not writing anything about anything is inexcusable. I could offer the standard excuses: I’ve been busy, I’ve not had anything to say, the dog ate my homework – but my life hasn’t become so busy and uninteresting over the past month that I couldn’t jot down even the simplest of posts. I just decided to slack off for no apparent reason.

And so it stops today.

Does this mean that I’m going to return to my goal of posting every day? I’m not sure. What I do know is that the every day thing won’t necessarily be limited to this particular blog. For those not in the know, I also write a professional blog (although I’ve been slacking there too), I write for the Farm To Fork blog, and I also write posts for the School of Computer Science.

Bottom line is this – while I’m not going to promise a daily post, I am going to promise more than 1 post a month. An army of trained monkeys could hammer out at least 1 coherent post per month, and I’d like to think that I’m a wee bit more organized and talented than an army of trained monkeys. I hope.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. “It was the best of times. It was the blurst of times.
    The blurst of times. Stupid monkeys!”

    1. dangillis says:

      “It was the best of times, it was the blurst of times” was my alternate title for this post.

  2. Beth says:

    Note to self: Write funding application to buy an army of trained monkeys.

    1. dangillis says:

      Ooh, I’ll get in on that study.

      1. Beth says:

        Think of how many blog postings we could write with all those monkeys! Also, planning for this grant will require meetings on a beach. For science!

        1. dangillis says:

          If our research programs don’t include beach meetings for science, then we’re clearly doing science wrong.

  3. Good luck and keep at it, I’m heading out to the ICS in Brno so I may have to postpone blogging till I get back but maybe not we’ll see how busy I get caving 🙂

    1. dangillis says:

      Have fun! I’m hoping I might be able to do some more caving on my next adventure out to Calgary (hopefully in August/September).

Leave a Reply

