A Weekend With The Good Doctor

The good doctors – a picture of scientific brilliance?

This past weekend I did several things that I haven’t done in a long time. First and foremost I took some time off. In fact, I took Thursday and Friday off too. Oh, and also Monday1.

A five day weekend you say? Don’t mind if I do.

Even better, this particular five day weekend included a cottage getaway with the one and only Dr. Stephanie. Since we find ourselves living in different cities with hectic lives and careers and social activities and – well, life – it’s awesome when we are able to coordinate our schedules, get together, and be the goofs that we are.

I already miss you Steph. NO YOU HANG UP.

Ahem. Where was I? Oh right, I was getting to the other thing that I did this weekend that I haven’t done in a long time. Are you ready for this? I did some reading for fun.

Holy crapshark. Reading for fun? It’s a Festivus miracle.

Now before I tell you what I read, I need to ask you to promise me that you won’t freak out or judge me or whatever, because it really was reading for the sake of fun. Promise? Okay, good. I spent part of the weekend reading statistical papers, and it was AWESOME.

I can almost hear you screaming That’s not taking time off.

In most cases I would agree with you. However, and bear with me here, I haven’t actually had the time to sit down and read some really good, really juicy, really thought-provoking statistical papers in a while. This isn’t a complaint. It has just been the reality of my life for the past 8 months or so. Course work, reports, various projects, presentations, conferences, meetings, Farm To Fork – all have kept me away from statistics on some level. So, you’ll understand when I write that I was super excited to actually sink my teeth into a few articles from the world that is my bread and butter. 

The weekend was also a bit of a time machine in the sense that Steph and I were able to read papers, bounce ideas off of one another, talk the statistical talk, and goof off all at the same time. We haven’t been able to do that in a very long while, and this was our daily life while we were working on our PhDs. It was amazing to relive a little of that, minus all of the pressure and stress associated with the degree.

The end result? I came back from the cottage feeling refreshed, and filled with so many statistical ideas that I think I might be busy for years trying to work through them all. In some ways, knowing that there are so many things that we don’t know is a bit scary and humbling, but it’s also exciting and energizing.

This past weekend was exactly what I needed – a mini vacation to recharge, to step away from the everyday routine, breathe in nature, and just be.

Thanks Steph. I can’t wait for our next adventure.


1 Okay, technically we worked on a paper on Monday, but since we did so at the cottage I almost feel like we took the day off.

 

Leave a Reply

