Worst Vacation Countdown Ever

Big Mountain Challenge II – The Re-Mountaining – coming to a blog near you later this August.

I’ve decided that it’s high time I take a full week off of work.

Sort of.

Don’t get me wrong. I know I really should be taking a week off – it’s good for me, I’ll ultimately be far more productive after a proper rest, I have other things that I want to accomplish outside of my academic/work life, and if I don’t use my vacation days I probably deserve to be punched in my stupid head1.

But – and there is a but – I’m actually having a lot of fun at work right now, so it’s a bit difficult to stop. I may change my thinking by the end of this week, what with the papers, posters, proposals, grants, reports, meetings, analyses, and presentations I have to finish up. But I digress.

Regardless, I have begun scouting out options for my vacation. My guess is that I’ll have a bit of a stay-cation at the beginning of August (where I may attempt to paint my condo), followed by an adventure out west with my ever ready to agree to the stupid things I want to do friend Rick2.

Since I have yet to officially book either of these vacations – although my trip to visit Rick to commemorate the Big Mountain Challenge is definitely a go – I can’t quite set my vacation countdown clock yet. Which is – for someone who loves to travel and wanderlust and adventure and shenanigan – rather annoying. Even more annoying, is that this annoyance is of my own doing. That’s annoying squared, I think.

Anyway, I think I’m going to go punch myself for being so annoying.

You may return to your regularly scheduled whatever it was you were doing before I decided to annoy myself and probably everybody else activity.


1 I realize that if Rick is reading this right now, he’s probably rolling his eyes and wanting to punch me in my face for being so stupid. And he would be right to roll his eyes and want to do this. Because not taking a vacation is stupid. Really, really stupid.

2 You may remember Rick from such adventures as this, this, or this.

Leave a Reply

