Back In The Saddle?

The streets have looked a lot like this for the past few months -empty racetracks calling out to me.
The streets have looked a lot like this for the past few months: empty racetracks calling out to me.

Some of you may have noticed that I’ve been rather quiet on the running front these past several months. No updates about my training schedule. No updates about races. No updates about my running goals.

I’d like to say that it has been because I’ve been so busy running that I’ve not been able to post anything. Sadly that isn’t the case.

Earlier this year I was slated to run my first Ultra – the Niagara Ultra Marathon to be exact. It was to be a glorious 50k jaunt along the Niagara river full of fantastic scenery that only the Niagara river could offer. I trained, and I trained. And I trained some more. Sadly, due to overuse, overtraining, stupidity, or perhaps a combination of these, my right ankle decided that my first Ultra would have to wait. Of course, being the stubborn individual that I am, I opted not to make that decision until the Friday before the race. And it took me realizing that I was limping as I walked to the office to finally admit that I was possibly injured. Ya, I’m just that bull-headed and stupid at times.

I spent the summer trying to heal. Correction, I spent the summer annoyed that I wasn’t able to run. I even limited my walking – at least in the beginning. Slowing down – while definitely what I needed and very good for me – wasn’t easy to deal with. I felt lazy. I felt fat. I felt, well, just gross.

To try to quell the lazy/fat/gross feelings, I began joining my friend Dr. Mark at the GoodLife Fitness Centre down the road for some weight training. If you know Mark, it’s very obvious that he knows what he’s doing at the gym. It also doesn’t hurt that he’s a great Chiropractor who knows how a body should be moving to prevent injury. I won’t pretend that I felt less lazy or fat or gross – apparently my brain requires lengthy endurance activities to feel like I’ve done something – but it did help keep me focused on staying healthy, and giving my ankle time to repair. And, perhaps, I may have grown a muscle or two1. Point is, I feel stronger despite the fact that I’ve been sidelined from running for so long.

This isn’t to say that I haven’t run at all in the past few months. I have. But only short distances. One kilometre here. Two kilometres there. And always before I’d work out with Dr. Mark. At least that was the case until tonight.

Because I’m often stupid, I misread Mark’s “We’re going to the gym tonight at 7:30” text as “We’re going to the gym tonight at 7:00”. Needless to say I found myself with some time on my hands; extra time that quickly turned into 3 extra kilometres plus time to stretch before Dr. Mark and Dr. Julie arrived.

So there you have it. My first 5k run – 5.21k to be exact – since June. It wasn’t my fastest run ever (a respectable 24.30), and I’m sure that I’m going to feel it in the morning, but it’s done. My legs felt strong. I felt strong.

Here’s hoping that this means I’m back in the saddle, because I have a lot of running that I want/need to do.

Oh, and Niagara Ultra Marathon – consider this your official notice. I’m coming for you.


1 Results pending.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. You’ve got this Gilli!

  2. Beth says:

    Glad to hear that you’ve given yourself a good long time to heal, as I’m sure that was really challenging for you. And glad to hear that you are feeling ready to jump back in the saddle!

Leave a Reply

