19 Again

Christmas mimosas – it’s what’s for breakfast.

For those who follow my Twitter account1, you’re likely already aware of the fact that I had a bit of an incident at the liquor store yesterday. Nothing crazy of course – I made no scene, there was no need for security to be called. Regardless, something happened; something that was a mix of amazing and surreal and ridiculous and hilarious.

I had sauntered over to the liquor store early yesterday to pick up certain key ingredients for the traditional Christmas morning mimosas. Surprisingly the store wasn’t very busy when I arrived, so I only had to wait in line behind one other person. I placed several2 bottles of Christmas cheer on the counter and pulled out my bank card.

Could I see some ID?

I was only slightly surprised to hear this. I’ve heard this request before and I’m sure I’ll hear it again because I realize that I look younger than my 38 years. Further, the staff of the liquor store are required by law to ID anyone that looks 25 or younger. The legal drinking age is actually 19, but the law is in place to honestly, I have no idea what the intended purpose is. 

You might be asking, do I look younger than 19? Unless you are visually impaired, drunk, or high, I’m going to guess no. I’m not even convinced I look 25. However, the liquor store employee decided that she needed my ID.

I happily passed her the ID I’ve been using for the past 10 years.

I’m sorry, but this has expired.

I stared blankly back at her, not realizing what she was saying.

I can’t accept this. Do you have another piece of ID?

I didn’t. I told her so.

It was at this point that I realized what she was getting at.

It was at this point that I realized she wasn’t going to sell me the booze.

It was at this point that I realized that Christmas might be ruined.

I tried explaining that it was the same ID I’d always used. I never thought to reiterate the fact that I’m almost 40. I just kept staring at her assuming that my impressive powers of persuasion and my out-of-date ID would convince her that I was worthy of the bottles placed before her.

I clearly was not. Instead I had to pack it in, sad-faced, empty-handed, and convinced that Christmas was ruined. Denied at the liquor store at the tender young age of 38, because I apparently didn’t look old enough to pass as someone of the legal drinking age in this province.

But don’t worry folks – all was not lost. My little brother dropped by later to buy the necessary mimosa ingredients. That’s correct – my little brother bought me Christmas cheer because apparently I’m not old enough to buy my own.

It was a weird but wonderful Christmas miracle.

Merry Christmas everyone.


1 @thedangillis

2 Read 3.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. bdflynn says:

    While I was working bar security I had many similar incidents denying people because they had an expired ID. I often ID’d one or two people in a group of people I didn’t doubt to be under 19. At the bar, when you ask for one or two IDs, it is typical for the whole group to surrender IDs. It would usually turn out that one of these people I had no intention of checking in the first place but who had surrendered ID, would be toting an expired licence. At this point I’d have to deny them entry simply based on the fact that the ID is no longer valid and I have to assume it doesn’t belong to them.

    It’s important to keep your ID valid. Once that expiry date passes or the white “Valid as photo ID only” sticker is applied the card the information on that card is no longer valid. People often misinterpret that white sticker to mean that the card is still “Valid as photo ID only” but that’s not the case. It is that the photo can be compared to another to confirm the validity of a second piece of ID.

    Sadly as far as the liquor service industry is concerned, an expired ID is a loaned ID.

    Glad it all worked out in the end. I personally hated being on the authority end of these situations. It’s not a very good way to make friends!

    Merry Christmas

    1. dangillis says:

      Lesson learned for sure. I just never expected to be this old and to have a problem. Hilarious event more than anything.

Leave a Reply

