An Apple A Day

Paging Dr. Zoidberg
Paging Dr. Zoidberg

I have a confession to make. A confession that is well overdue, and going on 4 years in the making.

At the strapping young age of 38, I am without a family doctor.

I’ll give you a moment to pick yourselves up off of the floor.

For years this was never a problem. I moved to Guelph back in the old time-y days of 1994. At the time whenever I needed a health care professional, I simply sauntered over to the Student Health Centre on campus. There I was fortunate enough to see some really great physicians; experts who saw me through coughs and colds, a crazy bout with pneumonia, stress related eczema, and crazy weight loss that would eventually be attributed to a hiatal hernia.

But the day that I graduated with my PhD was the day that I was no longer entitled to visit Student Health Services. After 16 years building a relationship with the awesome staff and doctors there, I was on my own.

So while I’m not sick, and before I absolutely am desperate for one because I start sprouting a horn or other unsightly blemish, I have decided that this must be the year that I find the doctor that’s right for me. Or, as is likely the case, whichever doctor happens to be accepting new patients.

This is where – hopefully – you can help. If any of you know of and can recommend a family doctor who might be willing to take me on as a patient, I’m all ears. Since I don’t drive, someone in the downtown area or near Stone Road Mall or campus would be super swell.

While I don’t doubt an apple a day keeps the doctor away, it’s probably prudent for me to get at least one checkup every now and then. I’m apparently not getting any younger.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    I faced the exact same situation when I finished my PhD – I loved my physician at UBC Student Health, but couldn’t see her anyone more once I graduated. I, however, was not as wise as you and didn’t look for a new family doctor until I was sick (for TMI on said sickness, see here: http://www.nottobetrustedwithknives.com/2007/04/18/coffee-ground-vomitus/). Just FYI, you do not want to be looking for a doctor when you are throwing up blood.

    While I don’t know any docs in Guelph, I can tell you that you should check out your potential physicians on rateMDs.com. I found my current family doc – who I *love* – by looking on the BC College of Physicians and Surgeons website’s list of docs who are taking patients (I suspect the Ontario College would have a similar list) and then checking those people out on rateMDs.com.

    Good luck!

    1. dangillis says:

      Excellent idea Dr. Beth. And ya – any sort of vomit is bad, but blood based vomit is especially bad.

Leave a Reply

