So Many Thanks

With 14 months to spare, I got in just under the wire.
With 14 months to spare, I got in just under the wire.

The last few weeks have been weird and wonderful, and today was no exception.

Actually, let me take that back. Today was an exception in the sense that it was even weirder and even more wonderful than the last few weeks have been.

For those who haven’t already seen the news, read the twitters, liked the facebooks, or thing-a-ma-jigged the social medias, today was the day that the Guelph Mercury presented the 2014 Forty Under Forty honourees. And as you can see by the photo, I was very fortunate to be named with so many other very deserving and remarkable people1.

While I am incredibly honoured by this award, I really am standing on the shoulders of some very inspirational and game-changing difference-making giants. From the faculty and staff who I work with at the University of Guelph, to the friends and family who are the very definition of amazing, I am fortunate to surround myself with truly incredible people.

Of course, the group that really deserves all of the credit are my students. I have had (and continue to have) the very great privilege of teaching some of the most inspiring and brilliant minds. Sure, sometimes they frustrate the hell out of me, sometimes I can’t tell if I’m making a difference at all, and sometimes I feel like I’m doing more harm than good. But most of the time, they really do give me hope for the future. They remind me that there are people out there who care beyond the walls of their own little worlds. They remind me that things can and will get better. And they remind me why I wanted to become a prof in the first place.

Thank you to everyone who made today possible. I am so very honoured and humbled.


 

1 Congrats to everyone who was honoured today. It was amazing to share the stage with so many fantastic people. It was extra amazing to share the stage with so many people who I am lucky enough to call my friends.

Leave a Reply

