Operation China Adventure: The Social Media Challenge

As you are all aware at this point, Operation China Adventure begins in a few days. I’m very clearly excited. But as I mentioned yesterday, I have a long list of things that I need to complete before I can even think about my trip.

Hmmm, perhaps I should have written that as before I should even think about my trip. Seriously though, how am I to not think about this trip every waking moment? I suffer from wanderlust. Not thinking about a trip is essentially impossible.

Anyway, I’ve been trying to figure out how to keep all y’alls updated on Operation China Adventure once I actually take off and land roughly 14 hours later in my adopted-country-for-a-month. As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, both Twitter and Facebook are off limit there. YouTube isn’t an option. And even WordPress – meaning this blog and all of my other blogs – will be unavailable. In fact, according to the all-knowing Wikipedia, there’s a huge list of websites that are blocked.

So what’s a social media type guy to do in the absence of all of the standard social media to which he’s become accustomed?

Fortunately I think I have some workarounds. First, I mentioned yesterday that Instagram is available to me (at least at last check). This means I can post pictures and descriptions of my adventures until the cows come home. And, because Instagram integrates with Twitter and Facebook, everything posted there should make it to your Twitter or Facebook feeds. The only trouble is that this social media workaround will be one-way (unless you comment on Instagram). I’ll be able to tell you what’s going on and show you pictures, but I won’t have access to any potential feedback.

I also think I have a workaround for the blogs. It turns out that I can email a blog post to the WordPress servers. At that point, they perform some sort of e-magic and presto-change-o, a new post will appear.

Of course, I wanted to test this email-to-blog magic before the trip just to work out any kinks. So, assuming everything works, you should be reading this post right now thanks to the miracles of modern science.

Leave a Reply

