So Long Dalian

Visiting the sea and wandering the square on my last day in Dalian.
Visiting the sea and wandering the square on my last day in Dalian.

I’ve just finished packing up all of my stuff, save for my computer. I’ve double and triple checked the hotel to make sure I’ve left nothing behind, and from what I can tell, I’ve got everything. Next stop, Xi’an.

Xi’an is in the province of Shaanxi, about a 2 hour and 20 minute flight from where I currently am. It’s also home to the Terracotta Warriors, a giant eleventy-billion kilogram bell, and various other must-see things for the newbie travelling in China. It is also only a hop, skip, and a jump from Huashan – the 2000+ metre mountain that I’m aiming to climb. You may remember that it’s also home to the world’s “most dangerous hike”, and that a teahouse of sorts awaits me at the top. I’ve also learned that it has numerous temples on the hike up, so I’m likely going to be taking about a zillion more photos.

My week in Dalian has been amazing. Yesterday it was capped off with a trip to the new Dalian Nationalities University campus (which is huge), Golden Pebble Beach, lunch at a local Japanese restaurant, and then an adventure into downtown Dalian, plus a jaunt to the sea and the largest square in the city (Xinghai Square) and Asia for that matter. This all came at the end of a great week meeting faculty and students at the university, giving a talk on community engaged scholarship and computer science, and filling my face with authentic Chinese food.

I’m not saying that Xi’an has a lot to live up to, but I’m also not not saying that.

Somehow I have a feeling that it’ll deliver.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    Just caught up with reading all your posts from China thus far. I was a bit behind on reading with having moved apartments and gone on a trip to San Francisco… which, I realize, is a totally lame excuse because you’ve been keeping up on *writing* blog postings while having a most epic international adventure! I have to say, your trip sounds amazing and I can’t wait to read about it more – and to see the pics from the epic hike complete with temples and teahouse and crazy amounts of danger. Seriously, be careful out there!

Leave a Reply

