Vacation To-Do Lists Are The Best To-Do Lists

Time to wander.
Time to wander.

It’s currently 5:12am on July 8th, 2014 as I write this. Yes – you are correct – I am still in the future. Well, at least for those of you in North America who follow this blog. I’m not sure how the quantum space-time bric-a-brac thingamajig works exactly – for all I know there are people somewhere on earth who are even deeper into the future than I am – but I don’t know who you futuristic people are, so I’m just going to pretend that I am the future for now.

Okay, my curious nature got the better of me. According to www.timeanddate.com there are people on earth who are farther into the future than I am. I think the farthest into the future are people living in a place called Kiribati in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, almost directly south of Hawaii (at least based on the map I’m viewing). The tiny island nation appears to live 6 hours farther into the future than China (right now it’s 11:12am, July 8). What’s weird is that the folks in Kiribati live a full 24 hours into the future compared to the folks in Hawaii, and they’re only separated by 2152km of ocean. Quantum mechanics are clearly confusing, especially at 5am in the morning. Regardless, I assume the Kiribatians get around with flying cars, and that they communicate in ways that are beyond our ability to understand.

I digress.

Today I’m going to continue my adventures in Xi’an. Specifically I’m going to venture to the world-famous Bell Tower. According to the all-knowing Wikipedia, the Bell Tower is approximately 630 years old; built during the Ming Dynasty. It stands approximately 40 meters tall, and houses a bell that weighs 6500kg. I’ve also read that it’s particularly beautiful at night when it is lit up with various colours of light.

Other than that, I’m going to wander the city some more.

Yup, my list of things to do today include 1. Go see the Bell Tower, and 2. Wander the City. I love vacation to-do lists.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. If you manage to find yourself on top of the city wall at Hanguanmen – which is the gate east of the southwest corner – make sure you go down into the museum inside the wall. Amazing things await.

    1. dangillis says:

      Ah, I was there yesterday. I’m likely going to go back today, as I didn’t get a chance to fully explore the wall. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for the museum. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

