The Big Wild Goose Pagoda

The Big Wild Goose Pagoda
The Big Wild Goose Pagoda

When I woke Friday morning I knew it was going to be beautiful outside. For the previous two days we’ve had a light rain in Xi’an. It was very successful at clearing out some of the smog, reducing the humidity, and dropping the temperature about 5 or 10 degrees. But, that all ended last night – and in style I might add. After getting somewhat soaked walking around the city, the clouds parted, the sun started shining through, and the rain left a giant rainbow over the Bell Tower as a parting gift. Since then it’s been pretty much clear skies.

Given the great weather, I decided that I’d hit up the Big Wild Goose Pagoda – which is outside the walls of the old city of Xi’an. For reference, my hostel, the Bell Tower, the Drum Tower, the Muslim District, and several other notable spots are within the old walls. For extra fun, I figured I’d walk. The weather was just too good to ignore.

The walk took about an hour, give or take. I took my time, taking in as much of the scenery as possible. The city was quite vibrant – people setting up shop, selling fruits and breads, and various other knick-knacks. Breakfast happened as I walked – juice and some delicious peaches. Not a bad way to start the day.

After much walking, I arrived at the Big Wild Goose Pagoda. It was nothing like I expected it to be. I had assumed it was only a simple building; turns out it’s also a giant park. There were probably thousands of people wandering about, spending time with their families, enjoying the sun and the water park. There was so much to see, it’s a bit difficult to capture it all in words. Simply put, the park was vibrant. I wandered around for several hours enjoying the weather, people watching, and marvelling at the Pagoda.

All told, not a bad day. Not a bad day at all.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Glad you enjoyed the Pagoda. Most people do not realise about the parks, shrines, and fountain shows around the Pagoda. It was one of my top places in Xi’an, too. http://backpackerlee.wordpress.com/2014/07/11/the-giant-wild-goose-pagoda/

Leave a Reply

