Hello Beijing

Thumbs way up to Shanghai.
Thumbs way up to Shanghai.

After saying goodbye to Andrew and Sass this morning, I returned to my room to start packing. My adventures in Shanghai have been fantastic and I’ve met some great people, but Beijing awaits.

This adventure will be slightly different for several reasons.

Reason the first: initially I was going to spend the bulk of my time in another really cool and highly rated hostel, but having waited a minute too long to book, it slipped from my grasp. Fortunately a last-minute deal at a five-star hotel dropped into my lap that I couldn’t turn down. So for about $10 Canadian extra per night, I’m going to be spending the next 5 days and nights wrapped in whatever luxurious luxury the Beijing Prime Hotel Wangfujing offers. I may even order room service.

Hello bullet train.
Hello bullet train.

Reason the second: for most of my trip I have travelled between destinations by plane. Today’s 1200+ km trek will forgo the plane as I have opted to see the country from a first class seat on the bullet train. The train promises speeds up to 300 kph. The price is essentially the same as the flight, but affords me views of the countryside that I’ve not really had as of yet. It also means I don’t have to deal with the same type of security, nor do I need to arrive at the airport several hours in advance. So, even though the train will take about 5 hours to reach its destination, I think the time commitment will be about the same.

Watching the countryside fly by at 300 km per hour.
Watching the countryside fly by at 300 km per hour.

What does Beijing have in store for me, other than luxuriously luxurious accommodations and the amenities that come with said luxury? Well, I’m not sure to be honest. I know that I’m going to be checking out most of the touristy things that I can, but I’m also going to try to find the not-so-touristy things. I’m definitely planning a trip to the Great Wall, and I’m going to walk Tiananmen Square, and probably snap about eleventy-billion photos of the Forbidden City. But I’m also going to be looking for markets and artisans, random clubs and eateries, and anything that might be described as uniquely Beijingian. I’m not sure Beijingian is a word, but I’m going to go with it.

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

I have no idea when all this will happen or what other adventures I’ll find myself in, but that’s part of the fun. I also have no idea who I might meet on this the almost-last-leg of my great China adventure. What I do know is that China has been incredible so far. I have no doubt that Beijing will also deliver.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Rick Chin says:

    Great Wall. Super jealous. That is all.

Leave a Reply

