Nepal. That Is All.

Less than 10 weeks to go until Nepal. Not that I'm counting.
Less than 10 weeks to go until Nepal. Not that I’m counting.

It’s been less than a week since I bought my tickets to Nepal, and I still find myself giggling with glee every time I think about it.

Seriously. So much glee. ALL THE GLEE.

And I know I’m not alone. Earlier this week Rick sent me a very simple text message.

Nepal. That is all.

Yes!

Fortuitously, the text arrived at a particularly hectic part of a painfully hectic day during a rather stupid-crazy hectic week. And honestly, it was the perfect reminder for me to take a step back, breathe, and remember how fortunate I am not only to travel, but also to have a job that I love – even if it is a little insane at times. More than that, I have a job that affords me the time to spend travelling around this crazy world of ours.

At times when the universe (or in this case Rick) sends me a reminder to breathe, I can’t help but feel a bit like a twit for allowing the everyday trivialities to take over, to worry me, to stress me out. Sure, reports and papers and meetings and such are important, but they aren’t capital-I Important. They shouldn’t carry the weight that I often assign them when there are so many more truly important things that should hold my attention.

While it’s easy to forget all of the blessings in life because some crisis-that-is-in-no-way-a-crisis has captured my attention, or news from around the globe makes me feel as if the world is going to hell, it’s nice that something as simple as a text message from a friend is more than enough to kick me in the ass, make me open my eyes to the realities of my world, and remember that I am one lucky bastard.

Happy Thanksgiving all y’all.

One Comment Add yours

  1. asthaguptaa says:

    It will be a gorgeous country and an unforgettable trip surely 🙂

Leave a Reply

