TTTT

Get it? Four Ts? Forties? Ha. I kill me.

So most of you are aware that I turned 40 this past weekend. Forty. While I know it’s just a number, it also seems to have a weird ring to it. Forty. Forty. Forteeeee. Four. Tea. Fore. Tee. For. T. Fort. E.

Maybe it only sounds weird because, as is the case when one says a word too many times, I keep repeating it.

The good news is that it only sounds weird to me. I don’t feel weird, or suddenly different because I’ve entered a new decade of my life. I don’t think I’m about to have a mid-life crisis, or panic because of all of the things I haven’t done, or freak out because I’ve realized that my time is limited and I still have so many things left to do. I’m the same guy I was pre-40, save that I’m a little bit older and wiser1.

When I look back, I realize that I have been, and continue to be a lucky SOB. And while I haven’t accomplished everything I’ve wanted to do – I long ago said goodbye to my dreams of being Count Von Count , or spending the rest of my days as King of the Wild Things – I like that I have so many things left to do. And I don’t just mean travel destinations2 yet to be explored. There are just too many things I’d like to see and do and experience. Books, movies, adventures, shenanigans, food, scotches, pies, mountains, math & stats geekery, computer nerdery – the list goes on. I honestly can’t imagine my list ever shrinking to a point where I’d conceivably be able to check off every item, because with every check box I check, another 10 seem to take its place. My list is an awesome Hydra. But that’s okay, because it keeps me moving.

To celebrate my 40th birthday in proper blog-style, I thought about creating a top 40 list of things I’ve done, or a top 40 list of things I’d still like to do, or maybe a list of 40 challenges for my 40th year, or perhaps describe the 40 most important lessons I’ve learned over 40 years. However, after a lot of thought I’ve realized that none of these are really necessary. Instead, I think it makes more sense to sit back with a delicious scotch, reflect on where I’ve been, where I am, and where I’d like to go, and quietly enjoy the fact that my list is still not complete.

I hope your list isn’t complete either.


1 Highly debatable.

2 Although, let’s be real – this makes up a significant portion of the things I’d like to do still.

Leave a Reply

