Shenaniganning

Shenaniganning – is that even a word? Actually, I’m not sure I care. All I really care about is that I’m going to be boarding a plane today to head off to Calgary to summit some peaks with Rick and Paul. Can’t. Freaking. Wait.

It has been far too long since I’ve been in the mountains. In case you missed it, the last time was the Biggest Mountain Challenge adventure to Nepal and Everest Base Camp. While the mountains of Canada aren’t nearly as tall, they are some of the most beautiful mountains in the world. Am I biased? Perhaps. Do I care? No. No I do not.

Our mission is to once again attempt to summit Mount Temple (and a few other mountains). We’ve been prevented from doing so for the past several years due to weather, bears, and scheduling conflicts1. The hope is that this time we’ll crush it. Of course, I say this after learning from Rick that 20cm of snow is to be expected. Is this sufficient to prevent our summit? Who knows.

But, once again, I don’t really care. All I care about is that I won’t be in my office sitting in front of a computer. I get to shut off the academic portion of my brain for a period2, and instead spend my time breathing in the scenery and beauty of the mountains.

There will be chats spanning the spectrum of silly to profound. There will be debates and hypotheticals. There will be periods of intense discussion, and there will be moments of completely comfortable silence. There will be plenty of photos, and there will be shenanigans. And if previous adventures have taught me anything, there will be moments where someone will be forced to be the voice of reason3.

But most importantly, there will be a lot of laughter with some of my favourite people. And that, dear readers, is what I care about the most.


1 While scheduling conflicts sounds a bit odd, the goal is to summit Temple as a team – me, Rick, and Paul. An “All for one, and one for all” sort of thing.

2 Or at least quiet it.

3 Usually not me.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    Happy birthday, Dr. Dan. Enjoy your four teas!

    1. dangillis says:

      Thanks Dr. Beth. So far they are off to a good start.

  2. Beth says:

    I was totally picturing a scheduling conflict with the mountain. Like you are looking at the mountain’s calendar on Outlook going “Nope, he’s got that whole day blocked off as “out of the office”!”

    1. dangillis says:

      Ha! That’s almost exactly what happened. 😉

Leave a Reply

