That Time A Pipe Burst

Remember several years ago – three years ago to be exact – when a pipe upstairs decided to burst and flood not only my, but also my neighbour’s condo? Ya, those were good times.

Anyway, I’d like to tell you that the condo has fully recovered from the event. I’d like to tell you that there aren’t still walls that need to be painted. I’d like to tell you that there aren’t any walls without decorative baseboards, or a kitchen fully decked out with kick-plates under the counters. I’d also like to tell you that I’ve thrown out all of the things that were piled in one room after the flood that quickly were identified as things that I don’t need because I haven’t touched them in, well, three years.

Sadly, I can’t tell you that.

To be honest, my condo is in what I’d call a functional state. Everything is dry. Everything is clean (or at least as clean as they can be since the last kill-all-the-germs cleaning). And everything that needs to work, works. But, my condo isn’t nearly as pretty as it could be. It’s not ugly, but it’s also not shiny and new. There are some repairs that could be made; upgrades that could be done. There are probably fancy new lights, and fancy new furniture that I could buy. I could install new tiles, or hardwood floors, or shiny new faucets, and sinks. I could do a lot of things to make my condo the shiniest and prettiest of all the condos.

But for me, none of these coulds would do anything to make my life better. And so, whenever I find myself with some extra cash that could be used to up the shiny/fancy factor of my home, I am faced with the question – should I?

For the past three years, my answer has consistently been no. I’m not sure if the flood taught me this, or if it simply reinforced the attitude that the stuff and things of my life are so less important than the actions and experiences of my life. All I know is that for me, it’s more important to experience life by expanding my understanding of the world, than it is by upgrading all my condo with shiny doodads and fancy sparklies.

Or maybe I just need an excuse to justify my travel budget. 😉

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick Chin says:

    I’m all about the stuff. Moar and moar stuff!

    1. dangillis says:

      I know. I know. 😉

  2. Beth says:

    When I find myself with extra cash, I tend to put it on my mortgage. Because I have a spreadsheet that shows me how much I’ll save in interest by making lump sum payments! I love saving money. And using spreadsheets! However, I haven’t done much travelling lately…. perhaps it’s time to justify extra money going to a trip of some sort?

    1. Rick Chin says:

      All the travels. Weeeeee!

Leave a Reply

