Five Years

Thanks to alerts from LinkedIn, I was reminded over the past few weeks that I began my position as an Assistant Professor in the School of Computer Science at the University of Guelph just over 5 years ago.

Five years.

I remember when I was younger thinking that 5 years was an eternity. Hell, driving in the car for more than an hour seemed like an eternity.

And now here I sit having realized that the 5 year anniversary of the day I started my assistant professorship has come and gone, and to be honest I didn’t really pay attention to it. I wouldn’t have even remembered the fact that I’ve had my Hawaiian borne Harry Potter-esque scar for 5 years were it not for a reminder from Facebook.

How could I have let these events pass without noticing them, let alone celebrating them? I mean, think of all the celebratory pie and scotch I could have had1.

Ultimately, the anniversary of the days when I started working or when my face so forcefully introduced itself to the hardwood floors of Hawaii aren’t terribly important, but typically I like to use them as a time to think about where I’ve come from, where I am, and where I might be going. And to enjoy pie and scotch, because pie and scotch.

Anyway, the last 5 years have been pretty amazing. And despite typical work related complaints – long hours, a hydra like to-do list, politics, etc. – I can say that after all this time I still love my job. Almost every week there is something new and scary and weird and amazing and frustrating and awesome and oh my god how am I ever going to be able to finish all of this stuff? But mostly, it has consistently surprised me in ways that I never could have imagined. There are days when I wake up and check my email and literally wonder how the hell did all of this happen? How did I end up involved in the things I’m involved in? How have I just been asked to be interviewed by CNN or CBC? How did someone from the other side of the world hear about my stuff and want to talk to me about it? Seriously, how did all of this happen?

Five years, and I’m amazed at where my life has gone. I’m not going to even pretend to think I have even the slightest clue about where it’s going to go in the next 5 years.

Fortunately, I like adventure.


1 For the record, celebratory pie and scotch taste better than non-celebratory regular pie and scotch.

Leave a Reply

