Ready. Set. Summer.

Despite how chilly it is outside the calendar tells me it’s spring. More than that, Friday marked the last day of class for the winter 2016 semester.

I won’t lie; this brings me more joy than I can possibly describe. While I’ve had a great semester and have enjoyed my classes immensely, I am ready for a break. That’s not to say that I’m not going to be working my butt off this summer with research and other academic pursuits, it’s just that lecturing and grading papers won’t factor into the equation.

Of course, a break from teaching is only part of the reason why my face is full of all the smiles. Over the summer, this wanderlusting fellow is going to be travelling a lot. In fact, if all goes to plan I’ll likely be home only a few weeks between May and September.

While the dates of most of my travels are still to be confirmed, the general itinerary is as follows:

  • May 10-June 1: return to Dalian, China to visit and teach at Dalian Nationalities University.
  • June 4-June 18: head to Scotland, France, and Spain.
  • Late June/Early July-Mid July/Late July: take part in the Leave For Change program. This program will last 3 to 4 weeks. As of right now, I have no idea where I’ll be going, only that I’ve been approved to take part. Possible destinations include Ghana, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Cambodia, and more.
  • Late July/Early August-Mid August/Late August: return to Rigolet for 3 to 4 weeks to launch phase 1 of the InukSUK program.

Did I mention my face, and how it has all the smiles? Because it does. ALL OF THEM.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

