I Have Landed In The Future

on

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not really good with the space-time continuum. Regardless, what I can tell you is that I arrived safely in Dalian, China after a full day of traveling.

My first flight left Toronto at 5:20pm Monday. After 13.5 hours in the air, we landed in Beijing around 7pm Tuesday local time (so 7am in Toronto). After a short layover, I was once again airborne on my way to Dalian, arriving shortly after midnight on Wednesday. By the time I poured myself into bed, it was probably 2am Wednesday morning.

Needless to say, yesterday was a bit of a blur. I awoke at 7:30am, had breakfast, then retreated to my room to catch up on email, do a little work, and nap. And then nap some more. And just for good measure, nap even more.

To be honest, I didn’t really do anything yesterday that didn’t involve comfy pants and my hotel room, with the aforementioned exception of breakfast, and a fantastic dinner with the Dean of Computer Science, and other members of my hosting party. I wish I had the name of all of the different things we ate, but I was still rather out of it. What I can tell you is that there was plenty of fish, clams, and various other seafood, as well as a spicy cauliflower dish, a plate of what can only be described as a cross between a sweet potato french fry and a puff pastry (amazing with peanut satay), a phenomenal seaweed salad, dumplings, Chinese meat pies, and more. I walked away from the table feeling full, and very happy.

Anyway, today I’ve spent my time mostly prepping for the class that I begin teaching tomorrow. I’m slightly nervous about it, but also rather excited. I hope I manage to live up to expectations. Whatever happens, the next few weeks are going to be an excellent adventure.

For now, however, I’m beginning to feel a wee nappish. This probably makes sense because it’s approaching 1pm – or 1am back home – the time I normally start thinking about crawling into bed. But as I said, I’m not really good with the space-time continuum.

Leave a Reply

