Dear Europe – This Is Not Good Bye

I’m about to board the glorified lawn dart that will take me from Barcelona to Dublin so that I can board a bigger, more powerful glorified lawn dart to take me from there to Toronto. Boo.

This has been my fifth adventure through Europe, and as I sit here I realize how freaking lucky I am that I can write that. I realize that not everyone has these kinds of opportunities. I wish they did.

Travel, to me, is one of the greatest educational experiences a person can be a part of. It’s an incredibly immersive experience that introduces new ideas, new cultures, new ways of doing to those who are lucky enough to be able to do it. More than that, it is an excellent way to learn more about yourself, about what’s important, and what’s not. And I think most importantly, it’s an incredible equalizer. It’s not about us or them, it’s just about us. I’ve mentioned this before, and I’m sure I’ll say it again, but people are more alike than we often care to admit. It’s only fear that keeps us from recognizing this.

This trip has been amazing. I’ve been fortunate enough to explore Scotland, return to France to see the beaches of Normandy, and spend a week relaxing on the Mediterranean coast in Spain. While I feel that I’ve only sampled all there is to offer in each of these countries, I leave feeling rested, rejuvenated, and very grateful for the things each has taught me.

So long Europe. Thanks for another amazing trip. I’ll see you again soon – I promise.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I realize you probably have limited online connectivity till you get home but post more pics asap

    1. dangillis says:

      LOL. Check out my instagram. Oodles of stuff there 😉 https://www.instagram.com/dangillis/

      1. I’m afraid I never really learned to appreciate instagram, prefer narrative with pictures and vice versa which is why I enjoy wordpress. Though you do have some great pics on there thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

