My Life Is Weird II

Remember that time that I wrote about how my life is weird? Ya, well next week it gets even weirder. And I don’t mean weird bad, I mean weird good. As in, weird so good I’m doing a happy dance in my seat, grinning a grin that seems to want to break the boundaries of my face. Yes, that weird good.

Beginning on Sunday, January 15, and running until Saturday, January 21, I’ll be hosting the @RealScientists twitter account.

WHAT!?!

I know, I’m excited too. Happy dance excited. Grinning like an idiot excited.

For those not in the know @RealScientists is a twitter account that was established several years ago (February 2013 to be more precise) with the goal of connecting people with the work that scientists do. But not just the academic stuff – the day-to-day real-world things that we find ourselves doing.

Every week the account curators select a scientist from around the world to spend 1 week tweeting about what it is they do, but most importantly, why they do it. As a guy who wants to see more scientific communication, whereby scientists communicate the work they do to the public so that the knowledge they’ve uncovered doesn’t stay locked in academic jargon collecting dust on some shelf and is actually put to good use, I’ve been following @RealScientists for quite some time from my @thedangillis twitter account1. And for the longest time I have had the dream of being one of the nerds who got to host the account for a week.

And this coming week it’s happening!

In the lead up to Sunday, the fine folks who run the @RealScientists account have asked me to fill out a questionnaire about my research, why I do it, and why I think it’s relevant, and they’ve asked me to submit a bio. Additionally, they wanted a few photos they could use for the RealScientists.org website and for the Twitter account. Of course, I couldn’t pick just one, so I sent them the following 5 and said they could select whichever one they feel works the best. For some reason, I think me in the wooly mammoth onesie really captures my academic side.

To the folks at @RealScientists, thanks for giving me this opportunity. Much like my outer self, my inner nerd is doing a very happy dance.


1 Although, truth be told I somehow failed to follow them through my professorly @DrDanielGillis account – until today – oops.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    I was one of the people who was not in the know! But now I am in the know, thanks to you! See – you are educating people already and you haven’t even started your @RealScientists tweeting yet. It’s almost like you are a professor or something.

    1. dangillis says:

      Weird. For some reason, I had in my mind that you had curated the account before. Maybe I dreamt that and then decided that since Dr. Beth was doing it, it must be fun.

      1. Beth says:

        I was the People of Canada curator once – that’s probably the one you were thinking of.

        1. dangillis says:

          Ahhhhhhhh! That’s right!

Leave a Reply

