The Adventure Begins

After the travel-filled adventure that was last year, it’s hard to believe that it’s already the middle of January and I haven’t boarded a glorified lawn dart to be hurtled through space and time towards parts unknown.

Of course, if you keep up with my posts you’ll know that 1) it won’t be long before my ever-present wanderlust gets the better of me, and 2) I’ve already booked a flight because my ever-present wanderlust not only got the better of me, it tackled me and virtually forced me to travel. That’s just how wanderlust works. It’s all very scientific.

Anyway, my first flight of the year will see me landing in Montreal for the 2017 International Forum – a conference on international development by the folks of WUSC and CECI. For those not in the know, one of WUSC’s mandates is the Leave For Change program, the very same program that saw me spending 4 weeks of last summer with the Agricultural Research and Extension Trust of Malawi.

I’m quite looking forward to this conference for several reasons. First and foremost, and despite the fact that I really have no idea what to expect because I’ve never been to an international development conference before, my experiences so far with WUSC suggest that this is going to be a fantastic experience that will likely leave me with a lot to think about, and a lot of tools to bring to the classroom. Second, and equally important, I’m going to get to spend a bit of time wandering the streets of Montreal, something I haven’t done in several years. And finally, this trip is the beginning of what looks to be another travel-packed year that potentially includes return trips to Malawi, China, and France, and the addition of several new countries to my list of countries visited.

See you soon Montreal!

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    I was just going on about the wonderfulness of Montreal today. Specifically about smoked meat sandwiches and spruce beer. I think it is a sign that you should have a smoked meat sandwich and drink a spruce beer when you are there!

Leave a Reply

